Student Government Association honors faculty members

February 25, 2015

Don Reagin

Don Reagin

Recent and archived articles by Don Reagin

Public Relations Coordinator
Campus Life
Work: 706-542-8539

Related Sites

Athens, Ga. - The University of Georgia Student Government Association recognized the work of 10 faculty members at its annual Professor Recognition Ceremony Feb. 23 at the Georgia Center for Continuing Education.

Faculty members, their disciplines, schools and colleges are:

Vikki Clawson, leadership advancement, Terry College of Business.
Nick Fuhrman, agricultural leadership, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
Jennifer Elkins, social work, School of Social Work.
Cecile Martin, environment and design, College of Environment and Design.
Patrick O'Connor, kinesiology, College of Education.
Christopher Plaue, computer science, Franklin College of Arts and Sciences.
Welch Suggs, journalism, Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication.
Brock Tessman, international affairs, School of Public and International Affairs
Michelle VanDellen, psychology, Franklin College.
Hongyu Zhang, international affairs, SPIA.

The faculty members were selected from nominations submitted by students. From the initial pool of nominations, the students of SGA's academic affairs committee selected the honorees based on numerous criteria, including clear articulation of impact and evidence of dedication to the education of UGA students both in and out of the classroom.

"We're lucky to have so many incredible educators at UGA," said Megan Ernst, a senior dual-enrolled AB/MPA student from Atlanta and SGA chief of staff. "This is an opportunity for SGA to recognize just a handful of the professors that have impacted our student experiences."

The Student Government Association is a registered student organization within UGA's Division of Student Affairs.

For more information, call 706-542-6396 or see

UGA Student Affairs
The Division of Student Affairs comprises 20 campus departments that enhance the learning environment for students at the University of Georgia by stimulating the learning process, integrating the in-class and out-of-class experiences, promoting an environment conducive to growth and discovery and facilitating intellectual, spiritual, social, occupational, physical, cultural and emotional development. For more information, see



Filed under: University News, Honors / Awards, Faculty Honors

Media Relations

Executive Director for Media Communications
Greg Trevor

706 / 542-8025
Executive Editor for Media Relations
David Bill

706 / 542-9150
Media Relations Coordinator
Sara Freeland

706 / 542-8077
Media Relations Coordinator for Broadcast
Melissa Jackson

706 / 542-8089

Open Records

Open Records Manager
Bob Taylor

706 / 542-8095