Student Government Association honors faculty members

SGA faculty recognition 2017-h

March 2, 2017

Don Reagin

Don Reagin

Recent and archived articles by Don Reagin

Public Relations Coordinator
Campus Life
Work: 706-542-8539


  • magnify SGA faculty recognition 2017-h

    From left: Houston Gaines, Jacob Fucetola, Eddie Watson, Vera Lee-Schoenfeld, Maryann E. Gallagher, Jennifer Rivers, Carolyn Keogh, David Martinez, Holly Kaplan, and Sehar Ali.

    Not pictured are Gregpry Robinson, Frank Harrison and David Gattie.



Scroll Left 1 Scroll Right

Related Sites

Athens, Ga. - The University of Georgia Student Government Association recognized 10 faculty members at its annual Professor Recognition Reception, held March 1 at the Miller Learning Center.

Faculty members, their disciplines and schools and colleges are:

Maryann E. Gallagher, international affairs, School of Public and International Affairs.
David Gattie, environmental engineering, College of Engineering.
Frank Harrison, philosophy, Franklin College of Arts and Sciences.
Holly Kaplan, communications sciences and disorders, College of Education.
Carolyn Keogh, ecology, Odum School of Ecology.
Vera Lee-Schoenfeld, Germanic and Slavic studies, Franklin College of Arts and Sciences.
David Martinez, Romance languages, Franklin College of Arts and Sciences.
Jennifer Rivers, accounting, Terry College of Business.
Gregory Robinson, chemistry, Franklin College of Arts and Sciences.
Eddie Watson, Center for Teaching and Learning.

The faculty members were selected from nominations submitted by students. From the initial pool of nominations, members of SGA's Cabinet selected the honorees based on numerous criteria, including clear articulation of impact and evidence of dedication to the education of UGA students both in and out of the classroom.

"The student body is so grateful for our incredible faculty, and the Student Government Association is honored to recognize some of the finest professors at our institution," said Houston Gaines, SGA president. "Our faculty continue to change the world with their groundbreaking research while changing lives on campus through mentorship and teaching."

The Student Government Association is a registered student organization within UGA's Division of Student Affairs.

For more information, call 706-542-6396 or see


UGA Student Affairs
The Division of Student Affairs comprises 18 campus departments that enhance the learning environment for students at the University of Georgia by stimulating the learning process, integrating the in-class and out-of-class experiences, promoting an environment conducive to growth and discovery and facilitating intellectual, spiritual, social, occupational, physical, cultural and emotional development. For more information, see



Filed under: University News, Honors / Awards, Faculty Honors

Media Relations

Executive Director for Media Communications
Greg Trevor

706 / 542-8025
Executive Editor for Media Relations
David Bill

706 / 542-9150
Media Relations Coordinator
Sara Freeland

706 / 542-8077
Media Relations Coordinator for Broadcast
Melissa Jackson

706 / 542-8089

Open Records

Open Records Manager
Bob Taylor

706 / 542-8095