Board of Regents approves new degree programs for UGA Griffin campus

Board of Regents approves new degree programs for UGA Griffin campus

June 15, 2007

Sharron Hannon

Sharron Hannon

Public relations coordinator

Recent and archived articles by Sharron Hannon

Institute of Higher Education
Work: 706-583-8244

Bob Boehmer

Bob Boehmer

Associate Provost

Office of the Senior VP for Academic Affairs and Provost
Academic Affairs and Provost, Office of Senior VP for
Arnett Mace
Arnett Mace

Related Sites

Athens, Ga. - Several new academic programs for the University of Georgia's Griffin campus were approved by the University System of Georgia Board of Regents at its meeting in Atlanta this week.

Three new undergraduate programs to be offered in fall 2007 were approved: a major in general business offered by UGA's Terry College of Business, a major in microbiology offered by UGA's Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, and a major in special education offered by UGA's College of Education.

These are upper-division programs for transfer students or those seeking a second bachelor's degree. Prospective transfer students need to have completed 60 transferable credit hours with a minimum 2.5 grade point average.

The regents also approved a master's degree program in agricultural leadership, to be offered by UGA's College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences in fall 2007.

"We are pleased that the Board of Regents agreed to advance our academic program offerings at the Griffin campus," said Arnett C. Mace Jr., UGA senior vice president for academic affairs and provost. "We look forward to collaboration with Clayton State and Gordon College in these and other programs."

The Griffin campus, located 40 miles south of Atlanta, was founded in 1888 as an agricultural experiment station and today houses UGA faculty engaged in cutting-edge research in urban agriculture and food science and safety. Degree programs were offered there for the first time in fall 2005. With the approval of the new programs, UGA now offers seven undergraduate majors and two graduate degree programs in Griffin.

"The degree programs offered in Griffin are all supported centrally by UGA's Office of Academic Affairs," noted Bob Boehmer, who oversees UGA's extended campuses. "We offer students the opportunity to earn a UGA degree in a location other than Athens, thus helping fulfill the university's mission to serve the state."

Prospective students can learn more about the programs at an open house scheduled at the Griffin campus on Thursday, July 12 from 5-7 p.m. in room 305 of the Flynt Building. For directions and further details, call 770/412-4400 or see


Filed under: University News, Facilities, Institutional Initiatives

News Service

Executive Director for Marketing & Communications
Janis D. Gleason

706 / 542-8083
Executive Editor of Communications
David C. Bill

706 / 542-9150
Public Relations Coordinator
Stephanie Schupska

706 / 542-6927
Public Relations Coordinator
Sara Freeland

706 / 542-8077

Broadcast, Video and Photography

Interim Director
Geof Gilland

706 / 542-8026
Broadcast Coordinator
Melissa K. Jackson

706 / 542-8089
Rick O‘Quinn

706 / 542-8085