UGA Debate Team qualifies for national championship for 25th consecutive year

UGA debate team

March 5, 2014

Alan Flurry

Alan Flurry

Director of Communications, Franklin College

Recent and archived articles by Alan Flurry

Franklin College of Arts and Sciences
Work: 706-542-3331

Edward M. Panetta

Edward Panetta

Professor and director of the Georgia Debate Union

Department of Communication Studies
Communication Studies, Department ofFranklin College of Arts and Sciences
Work: 706-542-4893


  • magnify UGA debate team

    University of Georgia Debate Team members are, left to right, Will Caplan, Margaret Davis, Shyam Shanker and Robert Galerstein.

Scroll Left 1 Scroll Right

Related Sites

Athens, Ga. - For the 25th consecutive year, the University of Georgia Debate Team has qualified for the National Debate Tournament. At the district competition held in late February at Emory University, UGA qualified two teams—the maximum number available to any university—to the season-concluding national championship, which will be held March 28 to April 1 at Indiana University.

The teams that qualified are made up of Shyam Shanker of Marietta, a fourth-year student double majoring in biology and political science, and Will Caplan of Alpharetta, a second-year double major in political science and international affairs minoring in communication, as well as Margaret Davis of Johns Creek, a third-year double major in sociology and political science minoring in Spanish; and Robert Galerstein of Dunwoody, a second-year double major in political science and international affairs minoring in comparative literature.

Only 80 teams from a pool of a few hundred from across the country qualify for the National Debate Tournament. Shanker, the UGA team president, estimates he typically puts in 20 hours a week of research and preparation-with weeks before tournaments sometimes far exceeding that number.

"As a part of our debate experience, I've learned about the various intricacies of our immigration system, energy policy, foreign democratic aid and presidential war powers, to name just a few of the topics we research and debate," he said. "Collegiate debate is also incredibly fun. From playing Frisbee outside Phi Kappa to our yearly trip to California, it has been an extremely memorable part of my UGA experience."

That UGA has been able to qualify teams to the National Debate Tournament 25 years in a row is a significant accomplishment for the debate program. Success in debate tends to favor elite private institutions, with major public research institutions typically succeeding only intermittently, said Edward Panetta, director of the Georgia Debate Union. UGA is one of a handful of public institutions that competes on equal footing with traditional debate powers.

"It is a testament to generations of committed undergraduate debaters and a dedicated coaching staff that UGA has been able to achieve this degree of success and longevity," said Panetta, who is a professor in the department of communication studies in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences. "UGA will now set its sights on the national championship; and the future looks bright, as three of the students UGA will be sending to Indiana are set to return to the squad next fall."


Filed under: University News, Honors / Awards, Student Honors

News Service

Executive Director for Marketing & Communications
Janis D. Gleason

706 / 542-8083
Executive Editor of Communications
David C. Bill

706 / 542-9150
Public Relations Coordinator
Stephanie Schupska

706 / 542-6927
Public Relations Coordinator
Sara Freeland

706 / 542-8077

Broadcast, Video and Photography

Interim Director
Geof Gilland

706 / 542-8026
Broadcast Coordinator
Melissa K. Jackson

706 / 542-8089
Rick O‘Quinn

706 / 542-8085