Nominations sought for the Fulfilling the Dream Award

October 11, 2013

Sara Freeland

Sara Freeland

Media Relations Coordinator

Recent and archived articles by Sara Freeland

Marketing Communications
Division of Marketing & Communications
Work: 706-542-8077

Michelle Garfield Cook

Michelle Cook

Associate Provost

Office of Institutional Diversity
Work: 706-583-8195

Related Sites

Athens, Ga. - Nominations are being sought for the President's Fulfilling the Dream Award, which recognizes individuals in the University of Georgia and Athens-Clarke County community who have worked to make Martin Luther King Jr.'s dream of equality and justice a reality. Nominations are due by Tuesday, Nov. 5.

Recipients of the President's Fulfilling the Dream Award are recognized at the annual MLK Freedom Breakfast, which will be held Jan. 17 at UGA. The breakfast, which is sponsored by UGA, the Athens-Clarke County Unified Government and the Clarke County School District, commemorates King's life.

The President's Fulfilling the Dream Award highlights the work of local citizens who have made significant contributions in social justice, race relations, justice or human rights.

Award winners will have worked to promote King's example of volunteerism and civic engagement to address critical community issues; utilized King's philosophy to reduce tensions, resolve conflict and foster goodwill; and used King's teachings to build bridges of understanding and unity.

Nominations forms are available at or by contacting UGA's Office of Institutional Diversity (, 706-583-8195)

One additional letter of recommendation by someone other than the nominator is required. Nominations can be sent to

University of Georgia Office of Institutional Diversity
c/o Awards Selection Committee
210 Holmes-Hunter Academic Building
Athens, GA 30602.

The award has been given to 36 individuals since 2004. Past winners have included Rev. Archibald R. Killian; Rev. David Nunnally Sr.; Sister Margarita Martin; Sheriff Ira Edwards Jr.; Josh Delaney, a former Student Government Association president; Mark Farmer, professor of cellular biology and chair of biological sciences at UGA; Walter Allen, a former adjunct professor in the department of educational psychology at UGA; Corey Johnson, an associate professor in the UGA College of Education; and Attawa J. Childres, a retiree who worked at UGA for 30 years. A complete winners list can be found at

Note to editors: Edited Oct. 28 to reflect new deadline.








Filed under: University News, Diversity, Honors / Awards

Media Relations

Executive Director for Media Communications
Greg Trevor

706 / 542-8025
Executive Editor for Media Relations
David Bill

706 / 542-9150
Media Relations Coordinator
Sara Freeland

706 / 542-8077
Media Relations Coordinator for Broadcast
Melissa Jackson

706 / 542-8089

Open Records

Open Records Manager
Bob Taylor

706 / 542-8095