GRU/UGA Medical Partnership campus dean search committee named

February 5, 2015

Charles Sutlive

Charles Sutlive

Vice chancellor, Office of Communications, Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia

Recent and archived articles by Charles Sutlive

Work: 404-962-3053

Atlanta - February 5, 2015

University System of Georgia Chancellor Hank Huckaby has announced the formation of a search committee for the next campus dean of the Georgia Regents University (GRU) University of Georgia (UGA) Medical Partnership in Athens.

The search committee is comprised of 15 members representing UGA, GRU and the Athens community and is responsible for the recruitment and screening of candidates. Dr. Houston Davis, University System executive vice chancellor and chief academic officer, will lead the search committee.

"The medical partnership and the Athens campus directly impact the health of the Athens community and play a critical role in improving the health of our state," said Huckaby. "With the search for a new dean underway, we are committed to providing the learning environment and experience for our students, faculty, staff, physicians and patients that continues to thrive. We are committed to ensuring a bright and productive future for the GRU/UGA Medical Partnership in Athens."

Members of the committee:
• Matt Boegehold, PhD, basic science chair and professor of physiology
• Chip Carnes, MD, urology resident
• Ruth Cline, MD, Athens OBGYN
• Houston Davis, PhD, executive vice chancellor for academics
• Kalie Deutsch, medical student, GRU/UGA Medical Partnership class of 2016 vice president
• John Francis, MD, PhD, campus associate dean for student and multicultural affairs
• Jennifer Frum, PhD, vice president for public service and outreach
• Michele Griffin, administrative specialist, basic sciences department
• David Hess, MD, professor and presidential distinguished chair of neurology
• Joseph Hobbs, MD, senior associate dean for faculty affairs and primary care, professor and GAFP J.W. Tollison Distinguished University Chair of Family Medicine
• Amy Medlock, PhD, assistant professor of biochemistry
• Robert Sinyard, MD, Athens Regional Cardiology
• Steve Stice, PhD, D.W. Brooks distinguished professor, GRA eminent scholar, director, Regenerative Bioscience Center
• Tracy Thompson, executive director, Mercy Clinic
• Paul Wallach, MD, vice dean for academic affairs

"We have strong representation from UGA, GRU and the Athens community and appreciate the responsibility we have been entrusted with in the search for the next campus dean of the medical partnership," said Davis. "I want to thank the representatives from faculty, staff, students and the medical community for their service."

The committee is responsible for recruiting, obtaining community input and conducting on-campus interviews with candidates. At the conclusion of its work, the search committee will forward the credentials of three to five unranked candidates to Peter Buckley, MD, dean of the Medical College of Georgia at Georgia Regents University and Pam Whitten, senior vice president for academic affairs and provost of the University of Georgia.


Filed under: Medical Science, Health Sciences, University News, Search Committees

Media Relations

Executive Director for Media Communications
Greg Trevor

706 / 542-8025
Executive Editor for Media Relations
David Bill

706 / 542-9150
Media Relations Coordinator
Sara Freeland

706 / 542-8077
Media Relations Coordinator for Broadcast
Melissa Jackson

706 / 542-8089

Open Records

Open Records Manager
Bob Taylor

706 / 542-8095