Ignite ticket elected to top posts in student government

SGA Election 2017

March 22, 2017

Don Reagin

Don Reagin

Recent and archived articles by Don Reagin

Public Relations Coordinator
Campus Life
Work: 706-542-8539


  • magnify SGA Election 2017

    Ignite party officers, from left, Kalvis Golde, treasurer-elect; Roya Naghepour, vice president-elect; and Cameron Keen, president-elect, celebrate their victory in the Student Government Association elections with a ringing of the Chapel Bell.

    Photo credit: Taylor Canerday


  • magnify SGA Election 2017 Tate

    Ignite party officers, from left, Cameron Keen, president-elect; Roya Naghepour, vice president-elect; and  Kalvis Golde, treasurer-elect, celebrate their victory in the Student Government Association elections with a ringing of the Chapel Bell.

    Photo credit: Don Reagin


Scroll Left 1 Scroll Right

Athens, Ga. — University of Georgia students have elected the Ignite ticket to the executive branch of the Student Government Association for the 2017-2018 academic year. The ticket consists of President-elect Cameron Keen, Vice President-elect Roya Naghepour and Treasurer-elect Kalvis Golde.

This year, 7,760 students voted in the election, representing an 8 percent increase over last year's voting and just over 21 percent of the total student body. The Ignite ticket claimed 57 percent of the votes cast with the Rise ticket pulling 42 percent. The executive ticket was disregarded by 111 voters.

Keen is a third-year student from Dublin majoring in political science, international affairs and public relations. Naghepour is a second-year political science and international affairs major from Roswell, and Golde is a third-year applied math major from Atlanta.

The Ignite ticket's campaign platform centered around three key issues: campus safety, including improving resources for sexual assault and mental health; affordability, focusing on preservation of the HOPE and Zell Miller scholarships; and improving the day-to-day campus experience for students.

The SGA inauguration ceremony is scheduled for April 5 at 6 p.m. in the Chapel.

The Student Government Association is a registered student organization within UGA Student Affairs.

Filed under: University News

Media Relations

Executive Director for Media Communications
Greg Trevor

706 / 542-8025
Executive Editor for Media Relations
David Bill

706 / 542-9150
Media Relations Coordinator
Sara Freeland

706 / 542-8077
Media Relations Coordinator for Broadcast
Melissa Jackson

706 / 542-8089

Open Records

Open Records Manager
Bob Taylor

706 / 542-8095