UGA students, alumni offered record number of NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

Babcock-Adams, Lydia 2015 at SLC construction site-h.env

April 1, 2016

James Hataway

James Hataway

Public Relations Coordinator

Recent and archived articles by James Hataway

Division of Marketing & Communications
Work: 706-542-6927

Jessica Hunt

Jessica Hunt

Scholarship Coordinator

Honors Program Office
Honors Program
Work: 706-542-6206


  • magnify Babcock-Adams, Lydia 2015 at SLC construction site-h.env
Scroll Left 1 Scroll Right

Related Sites

Athens, Ga. - A record number of University of Georgia students and alumni have been offered National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships this year. These highly competitive awards recognize and support outstanding graduate students in science, technology, engineering and mathematics disciplines.

Seventeen UGA students and alumni were among the 2,000 fellows selected from nearly 17,000 applicants nationwide for the 2016 competition.

"I am pleased that UGA students and alumni once again have achieved a record level of success in this prestigious national competition," said UGA President Jere W. Morehead. "Research is an essential part of graduate education; the research projects our students engage in through their graduate programs address some of the world's most significant problems while preparing our students to be leaders in their fields."

UGA's 2016 NSF fellows and their fields of study are:

Lydia Babcock-Adams, oceanography
Grover James Brown, ecology
Jennifer Lynn Cyr, ecology
Michelle V. Evans, ecology
Aileen R. Ferraro, biology
Maite Nunes Ghazaleh, marine biology
Sarah Josephine Harrison, biogeochemistry
Travis W. Jones, archaeology
Allison Nicole Koch, anthropology
Katharine Love Korunes, biology
Kerri Lynne Miazgowicz, biology
Micah Copeland Miles, ecology
Paige Bianca Miller, ecology
Michael Daniel Paxhia, biology
Emma Nicole Shipman, genomics
Sarah Elizabeth Tammen, mathematics
Michelle Adma Ziadie, STEM education and learning research

"This is a remarkable accomplishment for our institution," said Suzanne Barbour, dean of the UGA Graduate School. "The NSF views Graduate Research Fellowships Program awards as ‘investments that will help propel this country's future innovations and economic growth.' That 17 GRFPs were awarded to UGA graduate students and alumni is a tremendous vote of confidence in our students and our graduate programs."


Filed under: University News, Honors / Awards, Student Honors

Media Relations

Executive Director for Media Communications
Greg Trevor

706 / 542-8025
Executive Editor for Media Relations
David Bill

706 / 542-9150
Media Relations Coordinator
Sara Freeland

706 / 542-8077
Media Relations Coordinator for Broadcast
Melissa Jackson

706 / 542-8089

Open Records

Open Records Manager
Bob Taylor

706 / 542-8095