UGA 40 Under 40 is announced

July 6, 2011

Bob Taylor

Bob Taylor

Program Specialist, Office of Public Affairs

Recent and archived articles by Bob Taylor

Division of Marketing & Communications
Work: 706-542-8095

Julie M Cheney

Julie Cheney

Alumni Officer II

Alumni Relations
Work: 706-542-2251

Related Sites

The University of Georgia Alumni Association announces its inaugural 40 Under 40 class.  The group will be celebrated at a Sept. 15 awards luncheon at the Intercontinental Buckhead. 

Chosen from nearly 500 nominations, the program recognizes 40 graduates under the age of 40 who represent the best of UGA alumni.  To view the inaugural class, see  

The criteria for the 40 Under 40 includes: making an impact in business, leadership, community, educational and/or philanthropic endeavors; demonstrating dedication to UGA and its mission of teaching, research and service; and representing the very best of UGA graduates. 

The Alumni Association accepted nominations for the 40 Under 40 from February to April.  The nominees then submitted additional material that was provided to an external selection committee for review. 

Alumni Association Executive Director Deborah Dietzler said it is important to engage and maintain a lifelong relationship with the university’s ever-growing young alumni population.  “Of the 270,000 living UGA alums, approximately 93,000 qualified for this program,” said Dietzler.  More than 51% of UGA’s alumni base earned degrees within the last 20 years.

For more information on 40 Under 40, see

2011 Honorees

Name Class Hometown
Mary Paige Adams    1998, 2002  Atlanta, Ga.
Keith Blackwell   1996    Atlanta, Ga.
Brian Bordainick     2007    New Orleans, La.
Mark Bullock   1995    Montgomery, Al.
Chris Carr    1995, 1999    Atlanta, Ga.
Lance Compton   1995    Flowery Branch, Ga.
Chris Cummiskey    1996    Atlanta, Ga.
Carlton DeVooght  1994, 1997     St. Simons Island, Ga.
Edward Garrett 1994, 2008 Alexandria, Va.
William Gentry 2005    Greensboro, N.C.
Lisa Gipson  1995, 2001    Smyrna, Ga.
Garrett Gravesen   2003    Atlanta, Ga.
Tareq Hawasli   2002    London, U.K.
Matthew Hunt 1997    Washington, D.C.
Josh Jackson   1994    Decatur, Ga.
Rebecca Lang 1999    Athens, Ga.
Vance Leavy    1994     St. Simons Island, Ga.
Joel McElhannon    1994    Atlanta, Ga.
Kim Reagin Metcalf   1993, 1996    Watkinsville, Ga.
Daniel Minnich 1994, 2000     Herndon, Va.
Bart Newman  1999, 2005 Marietta, Ga.
Allison O’Kelly      1994 Farmington, Conn.
Sohyun Park 2006 Atlanta, Ga.
Katherine Parker   1994, 1999 Raleigh, N.C.
Christy Redd  2002 Griffin, Ga.
Shyam Reddy 2000 Atlanta, Ga.
Deondra Rose      2005 Ithaca, N.Y.
Teddy Russell    1998 Atlanta, Ga.
Palmer Sanford  2001, 2010 Smyrna, Ga.
Raj Shah 2006, 2010 Atlanta, GA
Beth Shapiro 1999 (BS/MS) University Park, Pa.
Billy Skaggs  1996, 2006 Atlanta, Ga.
Matt Stinchcomb 1998 Peachtree City, Ga.
Matthew Suber   2009 Ramstein AFB, Germany
Sacha Taylor  1999, 2005 Atlanta, Ga.
Holly Thomas 1993  Smyrna, Ga.
Catherine Trieschmann 2001 Hays, Kan.
Jud Turner   1997 Griffin, Ga.
Julie Wade  1996, 2000 Savannah, Ga.
Leo Welf 1995 Atlanta, Ga.

Filed under:

Media Relations

Executive Director for Media Communications
Greg Trevor

706 / 542-8025
Executive Editor for Media Relations
David Bill

706 / 542-9150
Media Relations Coordinator
Sara Freeland

706 / 542-8077
Media Relations Coordinator for Broadcast
Melissa Jackson

706 / 542-8089

Open Records

Open Records Manager
Bob Taylor

706 / 542-8095