UGA College of Education to host safe schools conference at UGA Gwinnett on March 1

January 23, 2013

Michael Childs

Michael Childs

Public Relations Coordinator

Recent and archived articles by Michael Childs

Dean's Office
Aderhold Hall
110 Carlton Street
Athens, GA
Work: 706-542-5889

Melanie Baer

Melanie Baer

Program coordinator

Dean's Office
College of Education
Work: 706-542-4556

Related Sites

Athens, Ga. - The University of Georgia College of Education will host a one-day conference designed to help participants locate and effectively use free and low-cost resources for preventing and responding to bullying in public schools on March 1 at the UGA Gwinnett campus in Lawrenceville.

The Safe and Welcoming Schools Conference will feature UGA researchers and practitioners from the fields of education, counseling, law and public health who will provide information on using a wealth of resources that include websites, videos, books and surveys. Presentations will be interactive, with hands-on demonstrations of how to use each resource. Participants will receive a compendium of the highlighted resources to assist in bullying prevention and intervention efforts.

Speakers will include the following UGA faculty:

• Andy Horne, dean emeritus, College of Education
• Pamela Orpinas, professor, department of health promotion and behavior
• John Dayton, professor, lifelong education, administration and policy
• Corey Johnson, associate professor, department of counseling and human development
• Anneliese Singh, associate professor, department of counseling and human development
• Kat Raczynski, director, Safe and Welcoming Schools Project

The registration cost is $149. The deadline for registration is Feb. 15 and is limited to 90 participants. For more details and online registration, see


Filed under: Culture / Living, Education

News Service

Cynthia Hoke

706 / 542-8083
Public Relations Coordinator
Stephanie Schupska

706 / 542-6927
Public Relations Coordinator
Sara Freeland

706 / 542-8077
Science Writer
April Sorrow

706 / 542-7991

Broadcast, Video and Photography

Steve Bell

706 / 542-8089
Broadcast Coordinator
Pete Konenkamp

706 / 542-8080
Rick O‘Quinn

706 / 542-8085