UGA conducting national search for EOO director

January 26, 2012

April Reese Sorrow
Rodney Bennett

Rodney Bennett

VP for Student Affairs

Division of Student Affairs
Student Affairs, Division of

Athens, Ga. - University of Georgia President Michael F. Adams has appointed a committee to begin a national search to fill the position of Equal Opportunity Office director.

The EOO is responsible for UGA's compliance with federal and state laws dealing with access to employment, enrollment and other programs and services. The office is responsible for investigating complaints of discrimination and harassment at UGA and enforcing the university's Non-Discrimination and Anti-Harassment policy.

Rodney Bennett, vice president for student affairs, will chair the search committee that includes faculty, staff and students serving in a variety of roles on campus.

The committee members include Michelle Garfield Cook, interim associate provost for institutional diversity; Jerry Daniel, UGA Staff Council president and IT professional in the mathematics department; Catherine Jones, faculty ombudsperson, professor and graduate coordinator in the Franklin College Romance languages department; Karen Kalivoda, director of the Disability Resource Center and University Testing Services and adjunct faculty member in the College of Education's counseling and human development services department; Edward Kellough, professor and department head of public administration and policy in the School of Public and International Affairs; Timothy Kelly, an assistant director for the Office of Legal Affairs; Holley Schramski, associate vice president and controller; Carla Williams, executive associate athletic director; and Kaitlin Miller, vice president with the UGA Student Government Association.

Janyce Dawkins, associate director of the EOO, has been serving as interim director since July.


Filed under: University News, Search Committees

Media Relations

Executive Director for Media Communications
Greg Trevor

706 / 542-8025
Executive Editor for Media Relations
David Bill

706 / 542-9150
Media Relations Coordinator
Sara Freeland

706 / 542-8077
Media Relations Coordinator for Broadcast
Melissa Jackson

706 / 542-8089

Open Records

Open Records Manager
Bob Taylor

706 / 542-8095