UGA creates student ambassadors group at Griffin Campus

UGA creates student ambassadors group at Griffin Campus

April 15, 2009


Jennifer R. Williams

Jennifer Williams

Assistant Professor

Related Sites

Athens, Ga. - Eight undergraduate and graduate students at the University of Georgia's Griffin Campus were recently selected to serve as official hosts and goodwill ambassadors for campus and community events.

The students already have welcomed university officials to the Griffin Campus and have visited with prospective students. They also have traveled to area colleges to help recruit students for programs offered at the Griffin Campus.

Jen Williams, assistant professor of agricultural leadership, education and communication at UGA's Griffin Campus, serves as the group's faculty advisor.

The 2009 student ambassadors are:

Name Hometown Major

Chris Benton Sharpsburg environmental resource science

Stephen Bowman Senoia environmental resource science

Jennifer Hidalgo Griffin microbiology

Marcus Jones Decatur environmental resources science

Megan McClure Watkinsville agricultural leadership

Trent Tate Locust Grove environmental resource science

Stephanie Thayer Fayetteville microbiology

Lea Tremblay Warner Robins biological science

UGA has offered bachelor's degree-completion programs since 2005 at the Griffin Campus, which was founded in 1888 as the Georgia Experiment Station. The seven undergraduate majors include agribusiness, biological science, consumer economics, environmental resource science, general business, microbiology and special education. Graduate degree programs also are offered in agricultural leadership and in mathematics education for elementary teachers certified in grades PreK-5.

For more information about UGA's Griffin Campus, see


Filed under: University News, Institutional Initiatives

News Service

Executive Director for Marketing & Communications
Janis D. Gleason

706 / 542-8083
Executive Editor of Communications
David C. Bill

706 / 542-9150
Public Relations Coordinator
Stephanie Schupska

706 / 542-6927
Public Relations Coordinator
Sara Freeland

706 / 542-8077

Broadcast, Video and Photography

Interim Director
Geof Gilland

706 / 542-8026
Broadcast Coordinator
Melissa K. Jackson

706 / 542-8089
Rick O‘Quinn

706 / 542-8085