UGA School of Law dominates regional moot court competition

November 26, 2013

Cindy Rice

Cindy Rice

Public relations coordinator, Veterinary Teaching Hospital

Recent and archived articles by Cindy Rice

College of Veterinary Medicine
Work: 706-542-3079

Kellie Casey

Kellie Casey

director of advocacy

Work: 706-542-2739

Related Sites

Athens, Ga. - The University of Georgia School of Law recently captured first place and the Best Petitioner Brief Award for Region 5 as part of the 64th Annual National Moot Court Competition. The school will now advance to compete against the top 30 teams from across the country at the national tier of the tournament, which will be held in New York City, N.Y., during February.

Representing Georgia Law were third-year students Steven L. Strasberg, Benjamin W. Thorpe and Emily K. Westberry. The trio defeated teams from schools such as Stetson University College of Law and Emory University School of Law to take home the Region 5 championship trophy. Additionally, Strasberg was named the best oralist of the final round of the event.

"The National Moot Court Competition is one of the most prestigious and long-running advocacy tournaments in the United States," said Kellie Casey, director of advocacy for Georgia Law. "I am extremely proud of how our students performed during the regional round, and I am looking forward to seeing them compete at the national level in February."

Sponsored by the New York City Bar Association and the American College of Trial Lawyers, more than 150 teams from law schools across the country compete in this tournament each year.



Filed under: Public Policy and Politics, Law, University News, Honors / Awards, Student Honors

News Service

Executive Director for Marketing & Communications
Janis D. Gleason

706 / 542-8083
Executive Editor of Communications
David C. Bill

706 / 542-9150
Public Relations Coordinator
Stephanie Schupska

706 / 542-6927
Public Relations Coordinator
Sara Freeland

706 / 542-8077

Broadcast, Video and Photography

Interim Director
Geof Gilland

706 / 542-8026
Broadcast Coordinator
Melissa K. Jackson

706 / 542-8089
Rick O‘Quinn

706 / 542-8085