UGA professor awarded distinguished agri-scientist award

Doyle Agriscience Scientist Award-h

July 15, 2013

Sharon Dowdy

Sharon Dowdy

Public Relations Coordinator

Recent and archived articles by Sharon Dowdy

Office of Communications and Technology Services
College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
Work: 770/229-3219

Michael Doyle

Michael Doyle


Center for Food Safety
College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences


  • magnify Doyle Agriscience Scientist Award-h

    University of Georgia Regents Professor Michael Doyle was awarded the 2013 Distinguished Agriscience Scientist Award July 8 at a ceremony in Washington, D.C. He is shown, center, with Georgia Farm Bureau President Zippy Duvall, award winner Sara Clark of Sonoraville High School in Calhoun, and UGA College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences Dean and Director Scott Angle. Image credit: American Farm Bureau Foundation.

Scroll Left 1 Scroll Right

Griffin, Ga. - Michael P. Doyle, University of Georgia Regents Professor of Food Microbiology, has been awarded the 2013 Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation Agriscience Award.

Doyle was presented the $10,000 CCFF Distinguished Agriscience Scientist Award at a ceremony held in Washington, D.C. on July 8. The federal government and the American Farm Bureau Federation support the foundation.

Doyle came to the UGA College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences in 1993 to establish the Center for Food Safety in Griffin. As director of the center, he has developed a research program that promotes collaboration among the food industry, the university, and federal and state agencies.

His research focuses on developing methods to detect and control foodborne bacterial pathogens at all levels-from the farm to the table. He is internationally known as a leading authority on foodborne pathogens, especially E. coli O157:H7.

In the early 1980s, Doyle was the first food microbiologist to study E. coli O157:H7, the major cause of hemolytic uremic syndrome in children in the U.S.

He has received several awards for his research accomplishments, including the Nicholas Appert Award of the Institute of Food Technologists, the Public Health Honor Award of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the Scientific Achievement Award of the American Meat Institute Foundation.

Doyle serves on food safety committees of many scientific organizations and has advised groups including the World Health Organization, the Institute of Medicine, the National Academy of Science-National Research Council, the International Life Sciences Institute-North America, the Food and Drug Administration, the U.S. Department of Agriculture, the U.S. Department of Defense and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

The foundation also presented awards to a high school teacher and two high school students. Sara Clark of Sonoraville High School in Calhoun, Ga., received the foundation's $5,000 Agriscience Educator Award. Two high school students, Jillian Drake of Fallbrook, Calif., and Kellie Einck of Paullina, Iowa, each received $1,000 awards for individual research projects.

"Today we honor four outstanding individuals who are involved in a wide range of agricultural pursuits," said Maria Lombardo, chair of the foundation. "From a leader in researching food safety and security, to a high school educator who inspires her students to pursue agricultural studies, to two high school students who are conducting groundbreaking research, this year's Agriscience Awards recipients are truly remarkable."

The award competition was open to scientists, high school educators and high school students around the country who excel in the field of agriscience.


Filed under: Environment, Agriculture, University News, Honors / Awards, Faculty Honors

Media Relations

Executive Director for Media Communications
Greg Trevor

706 / 542-8025
Executive Editor for Media Relations
David Bill

706 / 542-9150
Media Relations Coordinator
Sara Freeland

706 / 542-8077
Media Relations Coordinator for Broadcast
Melissa Jackson

706 / 542-8089

Open Records

Open Records Manager
Bob Taylor

706 / 542-8095