UGA’s Holland elected as Paleontological Society president

November 14, 2012

Alan Flurry

Alan Flurry

Director of Communications, Franklin College

Recent and archived articles by Alan Flurry

Franklin College of Arts and Sciences
Work: 706-542-3331

Steven Holland

Steven Holland


Department of Geology
Franklin College of Arts and Sciences
Work: 706/542-0424

Related Sites

Athens, Ga. - University of Georgia faculty member Steven Holland has been named president of the Paleontological Society. Holland, a professor in the department of geology in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, was elected at the recent Geological Society of America meeting held Nov. 3-7 in Charlotte, N.C.

Founded in 1908, the Paleontological Society is an international professional organization devoted exclusively to the advancement of the science of paleontology. Within its professional purview, the society fosters research, provides outreach and aids education.

"For more than a century, the Paleontological Society has advanced the science of paleontology around the globe," Holland said. "Its members are employed in industry, academia and government, and it actively supports the contributions of students and amateurs as well. I am honored to be elected president by my fellow paleontologists and represent the University of Georgia in the society."

Holland will serve a two-year term as president-elect, followed by two years as president and two as past president.

A paleontologist and stratigrapher, Holland uses a combination of fieldwork and computer simulation to conduct research on the long-term response of marine invertebrate communities and sediment accumulation to sea level and climate change. Holland has worked at UGA 21 years and holds appointments in the departments of marine sciences and geology.


Filed under: Environment, Aquatic Animals

News Service

Executive Director for Marketing & Communications
Janis D. Gleason

706 / 542-8083
Executive Editor of Communications
David C. Bill

706 / 542-9150
Public Relations Coordinator
Stephanie Schupska

706 / 542-6927
Public Relations Coordinator
Sara Freeland

706 / 542-8077

Broadcast, Video and Photography

Interim Director
Geof Gilland

706 / 542-8026
Broadcast Coordinator
Melissa K. Jackson

706 / 542-8089
Rick O‘Quinn

706 / 542-8085