The University of Georgia
Division of Marketing & Communications

Thursday, August 4, 2011

Writer: Joelle Walls, 706/583-0727,
Joelle Walls
Contact: Melinda De Maria, 706/542-2112,

UGA awards Charter Scholarship to 2011 recipients

A group of University of Georgia incoming freshmen has been awarded the Charter Scholarship for the 2011-2012 academic year.

The Charter Scholarship, funded by the University of Georgia Foundation, is named to reflect the university's distinction as the nation's first state-chartered public university.

Recipients are incoming first-year undergraduates with stellar academic records, leadership and community involvement, and a respect for and commitment to intellectual, social and cultural diversity. Usually the top six to eight percent of entering first-year students are named Charter Scholars.

The award provides $1,000 per year in addition to the HOPE Scholarship to Georgia high school graduates. Out-of-state recipients are given partial non-resident tuition differential waivers with their $1,000 annual scholarships.

The scholarship can be renewed for an additional three years of undergraduate study if the recipients maintain certain academic standards.

For general information on scholarships, visit

The 2011 Charter Scholarship recipients are:

Name / Hometown / High School / Parents(s)

From Georgia (listed by county)

Bacon County

Baldwin County

Banks County

Bartow County

Bibb County

Bryan County

Bulloch County

Camden County

Carroll County

Catoosa County

Chatham County

Cherokee County

Clarke County

Clayton County

Cobb County

Columbia County

Coweta County

Crawford County

DeKalb County

Dougherty County

Douglas County

Effingham County

Elbert County

Fayette County

Floyd County

Forsyth County

Franklin County

Fulton County

Glynn County

Gordon County

Gwinnett County

Hall County

Hart County

Heard County

Henry County

Houston County

Jackson County

Lowndes County

Madison County

McDuffie County

Mitchell County

Morgan County

Murray County

Muscogee County

Oconee County

Oglethorpe County

Paulding County

Pike County

Polk County

Pulaski County

Rabun County

Richmond County

Rockdale County

Spalding County

Stephens County

Sumter County

Taliaferro County

Telfair County

Terrell County

Thomas County

Tift County

Toombs County

Treutlen County

Walker County

Walton County

White County

From Out-of-State