Campus News

2014 Lillian Smith Book Award winners to be honored at Decatur Book Festival

Winners of the 2014 Lillian Smith Book Awards, sponsored by UGA Libraries, will be ­honored Aug. 31 at the Decatur Book Festival.

In Peace and Freedom: My Journey in Selma by Bernard LaFayette Jr. and Kathryn Lee Johnson and We Shall Not Be Moved: The Jackson Woolworth’s Sit-In and the Movement It Inspired by M. J. O’Brien were chosen from 39 books submitted for consideration. The awards will be presented at 2:30 p.m. at the Decatur Library, 215 Sycamore St., Decatur.

UGA Libraries sponsors the awards, in partnership with the Southern Regional Council and the Georgia Center for the Book.

The awards were named after Smith, the author of the 1944 novel Strange Fruit. UGA’s Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library holds Smith’s personal papers, letters and manuscripts.