Campus News

College of Pharmacy honors Feldman, dean emeritus, for diversity efforts

Stuart Feldman, dean emeritus of the College of Pharmacy was honored for his efforts to enhance and promote diversity within the college at a Feb. 25 reception held in conjunction with the university’s 50th anniversary of desegregation celebration.

Feldman was dean of the college from 1992 to 2000. In 1994, he hired the first African-American faculty member, Marie Chisholm-Burns and endorsed the formation of the Student National Pharmaceutical Association, an organization traditionally comprised of minority students. In 2002, he established the Stuart Feldman Academic Support Fund to “foster and support activities that educate and inform students, faculty and staff of the importance and value of diversity within the College of Pharmacy, health care and the health professions.”

In 2010, the Feldman Fund supported the establishment of the week-long Summer Science Academy for economically disadvantaged high school students who have a strong aptitude in math and science. In honor of his efforts, the academy has been renamed the Dean Stuart Feldman Summer Science Institute.

Feldman is founding dean of the Touro College of Pharmacy in Harlem, established to meet the need for a diverse health care workforce in an under-served population.