Campus News

Inaugural Peabody Awards winners festival set to take place on March 27

More than 30 recipients of UGA’s Peabody Awards will be announced via webcast March 27 at 10 a.m., and later that day, at 7 p.m., a sampling of the latest winners will be screened in the auditorium of the Richard B. Russell Special Collections Libraries.

For this film festival in brief, Peabody archivists will assemble a program of roughly two hours duration from a newly announced list of winners that will include examples of TV, radio and Internet entertainment, news, documentaries and public service campaigns.

The webcast of the announcement of this year’s winners will be available at

A complete list of the award recipients with short descriptions of their winning entry will be posted on the Peabody site after the webcast concludes.

The Peabody Awards, the oldest in broadcasting, recognize excellence and meritorious work by radio and television stations, networks, webcasters, producing organizations and individuals.

The 16-member Peabody Board is comprised of a panel of television critics, industry practitioners and experts in culture and the arts. Selection is made by the board following review by special screening committees of UGA faculty, students and staff.