Campus News

Members of promotion, tenure review committees announced

In accordance with UGA Guidelines for Appointment, Promotion and Tenure, the membership of the University Review Committees are being announced. University Review Committee members for 2012-2013 are:

  • Fine and Applied Arts- Bruce Ferguson (elected chair), Lisa Fusillo, Simon J. Gatrell, David Haas, John C. Inscoe, Jared S. Klein and Georgia Kay Strange.
  • Health and Clinical Sciences- Michael G. Bartlett, Rose Chepyator-Thomson (elected chair), Phaedra Corso, Stephen J. Divers, Randall B. Eggleston (clinical promotions), Elizabeth W. Howerth, Toni P. Miles and P.O. Eric Mueller.
  • Humanities- Dorothy Figueira, Richard E. Friedman, Edward C. Halper, Elissa R. Henken, Jan N. Pendergrass, Charles Platter (elected chair) and Robert A. Pratt. 
  • Life Sciences- Jeffrey L. Bennetzen, Albert K. Culbreath, James W. Porter (elected chair), Scott M. Russell, Harald W. Scherm, Bi-cheng (B.C.) Wang and William B. Whitman.
  • Physical Sciences- Gauri S. Datta, William H. Kazez, Walter Don Potter, Phillip Stancil, John L. Stickney, William K. Vencill (elected chair) and Sally E. Walker.
  • Social and Behavioral Sciences- Mark Cooney, Brenda J. Cude, Tina M. Harris, Gary J. Lautenschlager, Marguerite Madden, Keith Poole and Timothy B. Raser (elected chair).
  • Professional and Applied Studies [A]- M. Bruce Beck, Sundar G. Bharadwaj, Maricarmen Garcia (elected chair), June Gary Hopps, Romdhane Rekaya, Lori A. Ringhand and William G. Wraga. 
  • Professional and Applied Studies [B]- John H. Blackstone, Georgia B. Calhoun, Jay Mancini, John J. Maurer (elected chair), Mark A. Runco, Lynne Sallot and Robert J. Vandenberg.
  • Professional and Applied Studies [C]- Scott E. Atkinson, Bruce E. Borders, Linda A. Harklau, Barry Hollander, William D. Lastrapes, Richard D. Lewis, Julie M. Moore (elected chair) and Beth Bryles Phillips (clinical promotions).

The University Promotion and Tenure Appeals Committee became a standing committee in 2007. A complete committee membership list is at