Campus News

National search begins for next dean of SPIA

UGA Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Pamela Whitten has appointed a committee to begin a national search to fill the position of dean of the School of Public and International Affairs.

Charles N. Davis, dean of the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication, will chair the 19-member search committee, which includes faculty, staff, alumni and students.

Additional search committee members are Christina Boyd, associate professor of political science; Charles S. Bullock III, Meigs, University and Richard B. Russell Professor of Political Science; Briana Campbell, a Master of Public Administration student; Griff Doyle, UGA vice president for government relations; Maryann Gallagher, lecturer in the department of international affairs; Robert Grafstein, Georgia Athletic Association Professor of Political Science; Olivia Haas, an undergraduate student pursuing an international affairs degree; Susan Haire, professor of political science; Kevin James, academic adviser in SPIA and Staff Council member; Loch K. Johnson, Meigs and Regents Professor of Public and International Affairs; J. Edward Kellough, professor of public administration and policy; Keith Mason, an alumnus who is a UGA Foundation emeritus trustee, a founding member of the SPIA Advisory Board and senior counsel at Dentons global law firm; Amanda Murdie, Dean Rusk Scholar of International Relations; Rebecca Nesbit, associate professor of public administration and policy; Tyler Scott, assistant professor of public administration and policy; Shane Singh, associate professor of international affairs; Julie C. Smith, an alumna who serves on the SPIA Board of Visitors and is a vice president of external affairs for Verizon; and Brian N. Williams, associate professor of public administration and policy.

The committee will be assisted by the UGA Search Group in Human Resources.

SPIA Dean Stefanie Lindquist announced in May that she has been named deputy provost and vice president for academic affairs at Arizona State University. She also has been named Foundation Professor of Law and Political Science at ASU, and both appointments are effective
Sept. 1.

Grafstein has agreed to serve as interim dean and has indicated that he is not seeking the position permanently.