Campus News

Search committee named for University System’s next chief academic officer

The University System of Georgia is launching a national search to fill the position of executive vice chancellor and chief academic officer to succeed Houston Davis. UGA President Jere W. Morehead will chair the search committee.

“The CAO plays a critical role in our system office and will continue to report directly to the chancellor,” said Chancellor-elect Steve Wrigley. “In partnership with our institutions, the position provides leadership for our university system with academic programs and planning, faculty affairs, student affairs, international programs and online learning initiatives.”

Other committee members include Tricia Chastain, executive vice chancellor, USG administration; Kevin Demmitt, provost and vice president for academic affairs, Clayton State University; Paul Jones, president, Fort Valley State University; Kyle Marrero, president, University of West Georgia; Gina Sheeks, vice president for student affairs, Columbus State University; Briana Stanley, Student Government Association president, Georgia State University, Decatur campus; Charles Sutlive, vice chancellor, USG communications and governmental affairs; Wendy Turner, professor of history, Augusta University; Margaret Venable, president, Dalton State University; and Martha Venn, deputy vice chancellor, USG academic affairs.