Twelve UGA freshmen chosen to receive Coca-Cola First Generation Scholarship

Twelve UGA freshmen chosen to receive Coca-Cola First Generation Scholarship

Athens, Ga. – Twelve incoming University of Georgia freshmen who are the first in their families to attend college have been named recipients of the inaugural Coca-Cola First Generation Scholarship at UGA.

The students will receive the $5,000 scholarship for their first year at UGA, which begins Aug. 16 with the start of fall semester classes, and will continue to receive it for three more years provided they meet academic requirements.

The Coca-Cola Foundation this year awarded UGA $1 million to start the First Generation Scholarship program, which assists students who are the first in their families to attend college. Since its inception, the program has provided more than $10 million in scholarships to more than 1,000 students on almost 400 campuses in 32 states and in 52 universities in China.

The $1 million gift also will provide scholarships to groups of 12 UGA freshmen in 2008 and 2009, and to 14 freshmen in 2010. Altogether, 50 students will receive $20,000 each in scholarship awards over the next seven years.

Recipients must be full-time students who have a strong high school academic record and demonstrated financial need. In order to renew the scholarship, they must maintain a minimum 2.8 grade point average in their freshman year and at least a 3.0 average for the next three years.

“This year’s recipients will enroll together this fall in a first-year seminar,” said Jere Morehead, vice president for instruction. Other special programming, including a recognition luncheon, also is scheduled for the first class of scholars.

Following are the names, hometowns, high schools and anticipated majors of UGA’s first group of recipients:

Geralee D. Corona, Snellville, South Gwinnett High School, criminal justice; Edward A. Lilla, Jasper, Pickens High School, biochemistry and molecular biology; Cathy T. Nguyen, Lawrenceville, Peachtree Ridge High School, art; Linh P.P. Nguyen, Lilburn, Meadowcreek High School, pre-law; Ricky P. Patel, Norcross, Meadowcreek High School, biology; Cortney L. Ralston, Ellijay, Gilmer High School, biochemistry and molecular biology; Cara E. Russell, Rossville, Ridgeland High School, pre-journalism; Sarah A. Thorne, Canon, Franklin County High School, music; Jessica L. Tucker, Dallas, East Paulding High School, pre-business; Megan L. Aunchman, Buford, Mill Creek High School, biological sciences; Shital K. Lad, Acworth, North Cobb High School, biology; Kayla M. Sullivan, Trenton, Dade County High School, undecided.