Campus News Society & Culture

UGA announces 2010 Georgia Incentive Scholarship recipients

Athens, Ga. – Forty-one University of Georgia incoming freshmen have been selected to receive the Georgia Incentive Scholarship for the 2010-2011 academic year.

The scholarship provides $1,000 per year in addition to the HOPE scholarship to students with stellar academic and extracurricular records from high schools that historically have been underrepresented in sending students to UGA.

The award is renewable for an additional three years if the recipients maintain certain academic standards.

The 2010 Georgia Incentive Scholarship recipients (listed by county) are:

Name / Hometown / High School / Parent(s)

Berrien County

Kent Beam / Alphaha / Berrien High School / Kent Beam Jr. and Daslene Dillingham

Kaitlyn Tyson / Lenox / Berrien High School / David and Gena Tyson

Bibb County

Jasmine Hill / Macon / Northeast High School / Marvin and Geraldine Hill

Burke County

Laurah Young / Waynesboro / Burke County High School / Steve and Mary Etta Young

Chatham County

Jessica Cheeseman / Savannah / Sol C. Johnson High School / Charles L. and Julie Cheeseman

Vincent Tran / Savannah / Sol C. Johnson High School / Hue Khai and Kiem Quach

Samantha Trulove / Savannah / Sol C. Johnson High School / Bradley and Katherine Trulove

Clayton County

Son Tran / Morrow / Morrow High School / Mau Van Tran and Hong Thi Phan

Dade County

Jarret McDaniel / Rising Fawn / Dade County High School / Glenn and Jennifer McDaniel

Morgan Seymour / Wildwood / Dade County High School / Mike and Kathy Seymour

DeKalb County

Erica Flanigan / Stone Mountain / Cedar Grove High School / Michael and Barbara Flanigan

Titus Gates / Decatur / South DeKalb High School / Dwight E. Gates and Vicki E. Gates-Petterson

Shantae Gorman / Stone Mountain / Columbia High School / Debra Brown

Racquelle James / Lithonia / Southwest DeKalb High School / Joan James

Brandon Martin / Decatur / Southwest DeKalb High School / Katrina Martin

Therese Riza / Decatur / Columbia High School / Jameel Riza

Candice Slater / Stone Mountain / Southwest DeKalb High School / Claudia Baptiste-Slater

Maya Stroud / Decatur / Southwest DeKalb High School / Esqui and Gloria Stroud

Lyssa Williams / Decatur / Southwest DeKalb High School / Lydia J. Willliams

Fulton County

Kourtland Jones / Atlanta / Westlake High School / Timothy Williams and Leirdre Jackson

Dipal Patel / College Park / Westlake High School / Narendra and Bhavana Patel

Victoria Person / Atlanta / Benjamin E. Mays High School / John and DeLoris Person Jr.

Cachet Pinson / Atlanta / Frederick Douglass High School / Shemeka Baker

Brittany Scott / Atlanta / Westlake High School / Stacie Scott

Thinh Vu / Hapeville / Tri-Cities High School / Soa Vu

Houston County

Tiffany Brown / Warner Robins / Northside High School / Michele A. Smith

Keali Lay / Warner Robins / Northside High School / Mickey and Andee Lay

Curtis Rau / Warner Robins / Northside High School / Clark and Lisa Rau

Jefferson County

Shelby Fox / Bartow / Jefferson County High School / Darrin and Sebrina Fox

Brandon Kirby / Bartow / Jefferson County High School / Jamie and Cheri Kirby

Jared Stepp / Louisville / Jefferson County High School / Tony and Kim Stepp

Liberty County

Jeromy Causeway / Allenhurst / Bradwell Institute / Mr. and Mrs. Keith Causeway

Anna Collins / Hinesville / Bradwell Institute / Jim and Rose Collins

Dani Jacobs / Hinesville / Bradwell Institute / Joel and Michelle Jacobs

Ryan Norris / Hinesville / Bradwell Institute / Richard and Janice Brennan

Richmond County

Morgan Adkins / Hephzibah / Cross Creek High School / Tony R. Adkins and Sandra L. Adkins

Shannon Marshall / Augusta / T.W. Josey High School / Joseph and Carmen Williams

Ross Noah / Hephzibah / T.W. Josey High School / John and Carla Noah

Rockdale County

Ivan Whitted / Conyers / Southwest DeKalb High School / Ivan and India Whitted

Warren County

Nicholas Hudson / Norwood / Warren County High School / Eddie and Karen Burley

Nesha Johnson / Warrenton / Warren County High School / Angel Johnson

For general information on scholarships, see