Campus News

UGA announces 2010 One UGA Scholarship recipients

Athens, Ga. – Twenty-eight University of Georgia incoming freshmen have been selected to receive the One UGA Scholarship for the 2010-2011 academic year.

Because the university recognizes the value of a broadly diverse educational environment for all students, the scholarship is provided to academically outstanding incoming students who will contribute to the diversity of the freshmen class. Preference was given to those who are first in their family to attend college.

The scholarship provides $1,500 per year in addition to the HOPE scholarship to Georgia high school graduates. Out-of-state recipients also receive either a full or half Regents Waiver that covers all or half of the difference between in-state and out-of-state tuition.

The award is renewable for an additional three years as long as the recipients maintain certain academic standards.

The 2010 One UGA Scholarship recipients are:

Name / Hometown / High School / Parent(s)

From Georgia (listed by county)

Cherokee County

Andrea Beltran / Etowah High School / Edgardo Beltran and Hortensia Rodriguez

Yuliya Bila / Canton / Cherokee High School / Ihor Bilyy and Nataliya Bila

Cobb County

Inez Hein / Acworth / Kennesaw Mountain High School / Ricardo and Maria Hein

Natalie Thornton / Marietta / Kennesaw Mountain High School / Dale M. and Tracey Thornton

Coweta County

Dejuana Ford / Sharpsburg / Northgate High School / LaJuan and Deborah Ford

DeKalb County

Atul Malyala / Tucker / Parkview High School / Ramesh and Srilatha Malyala

Maxwell Okunola / Stone Mountain / Woodward Academy / Remi and Rose Okunola

Effingham County

John Rodriguez / Guyton / South Effingham High School / Raymond and Liliana Williams

Elbert County

Teisha Reed / Elberton / Elbert County Comprehensive High School / Janice Calhoun and Tracy Reed

Gwinnett County

Christopher Gable / Buford / Mill Creek High School / Mike and Sharon Gable

Alexis Garcia / Duluth / Wesleyan School / Gaston and Michele Garcia

Elena James / Suwanee / Northview High School / James Thevalasseril and Elza James

Jane Jurma / Lawrenceville / Grayson High School / Cornell and Zoie Jurma

Marvin Pacheco / Lawrenceville / Berkmar High School / Joaquin and Zoila Pacheco

Tracy Phan / Lilburn / Parkview High School / Tung Phan and Nguyet Nguyen

Ishwarya Soundappan / Suwanne / North Gwinnett High School / Thoddannan and Sumathi Soundappan

Hall County

Andrew Popovici / Flowery Branch / Flowery Branch High School / Christian and Sorina Popovici

Henry County

Travis Whittaker / Hampton / Ola High School / Mark and Joy Whittaker

Polk County

D’Ante Foreman / Rockmart / Rockmart High School / Meshawn Merrill

Richmond County

Tyler Bone / Augusta / Westminster School of Augusta / Thomas and Theresa Bone

Screven County

Brandon Murphy / Sylvania / Screven County High School / David and Kathy Murphy

Taliaferro County

Terrance Rhodes / Crawfordville / Taliaferro County High School / Cedric and Sheila Harris

From Out-of-State

Alexandra Elgin / Birmingham, Ala. / Mountain Brook High School / Mark and Lynn Elgin

Sarah Hope / Asheville, N.C. / T.C. Roberson High School / Dolly McLean

Valerie Navarro / Midland, Texas / Midland High School / Jay and Rosario Carothers

Paige Owens / Paducah, Ky. / Paducah Tilghman High School / Dennis and Carolyn Owens

Jamie Spinella / Franklin, Miss. / Franklin High School / Matthew and Laura Spinella

Mary Stevenson / Memphis, Tenn. / St. Mary’s Episcopal School / Cleo and Prudence Stevenson Jr.

For general information on scholarships, see