Campus News

UGA College of Pharmacy presents Distinguished Alumnus and Service Awards

Athens, Ga. – The University of Georgia College of Pharmacy recently presented Distinguished Alumnus and Service Awards. Barry Bryant, a 1981 graduate from North Augusta, S.C., received the Distinguished Alumnus Award.The 31 members of the Vision 2003 and VisionPlus boards received the Distinguished Service Award.

Bryant has the distinction of making the largest single donation to the college by a single alumnus, by pledging a major gift to create three unique endowments to benefit pharmacy students.He also is a Presidents Club member and has been a preceptor for more than a decade.

Bryant has been sole owner of Barney”s Pharmacy in Augusta since 1984 when he transitioned the company from Chapter 11 bankruptcy into the progressive multi-million dollar operation of today.Over the last 26 years he has created a multi-faceted corporation that includes a full-service pharmacy and a compounding pharmacy, a durable medical equipment business, a wellness center, and Hope Medical Center, a family care clinic. Two years ago he helped develop Creative Pharmacist, an online course that provides marketing ideas for independent pharmacists who want to expand their businesses by creating niche markets.In addition, he operates three other pharmacies in Augusta, Wrens and Evans.

Bryant spoke at the college’s awards ceremony in May and will be the Grand Marshal for the 2011 College of Pharmacy graduation ceremony.He has been recognized in the Georgia Pharmacy Association Journal for Pharmacy Innovation and was honored in Pride and Progress for Augusta-Richmond County for 23 years of service to South Augusta residents.

This year’s Distinguished Service Award goes jointly to the members of the Vision 2003 and VisionPlus boards who worked diligently over the past decade to secure support for the Pharmacy South addition to the college. All board members gave their time and financial resources to make Pharmacy South a reality.

Jeffrey Lurey, a 1970 alumnus of the College of Pharmacy, accepted the award as chair of both boards. A resident of Atlanta, he has held leadership positions in pharmacy for many years, including being president of the State Board of Pharmacy, a National Association of Boards of Pharmacy committee member, and president and chairman of the Board of the Georgia Pharmacy Association.He is a member of the college’s Dean’s Advisory Board and the Industrial Advisory Board; he is past president of the former Alumni Association and a recipient of the Distinguished Alumnus Award.

The other Vision 2003 and VisionPlus board members being recognized were Dennis Bloodworth of Chula, Bryan Brown of Dunwoody, Cham Dallas of Danielsville, Joseph DiPiro of Mount Pleasant, S.C., Ashley Dukes of St. Simons Island, Nabil Elkareh of Suwanee, Samee Ellerbee of Augusta, Stuart Feldman of Athens, Jack Fincham of Overland Park, Kan., Stewart Flanagin of Augusta, co-chair Michael Gigandet of Marietta, Jim Gore of Duluth, Valerie Green of Atlanta, Al Greenway of Macon, Renee Hay of Tampa, Fla., Susan Kane of Jacksonville Beach, Fla., co-chair Jan Mackey of Jefferson, Eddie Madden of Hartwell, Scott Miller of Darien, Conn., Sheila Miller of Grayson, Steve Moore of Atlanta, Harris Morgan of Camilla, Lizzy Mottern of Raleigh, N.C., Rep. Larry “Butch” Parish of Swainsboro, Steve Purvis of Talking Rock, Dana Strickland of Athens, Bobby Tamplin of Concord, N.C., Robert Thompson of Mechanicsburg, Penn. and Kevin Woody of Clermont.