UGA Education Dean Arther Horne receives national conseling psychology award

UGA Education Dean Arthur Horne receives national counseling psychology award

Athens, Ga. – Arthur M. “Andy” Horne, dean of the University of Georgia College of Education, has received the Social Justice Award from a division of the American Psychological Association for his work on understanding, preventing and intervening in bullying and school violence.

Horne, an internationally recognized authority on troubled families and ways to prevent and deal with aggressive behavior in schools, received the award from the APA’s Society of Counseling Psychology.

A UGA Distinguished Research Professor, Horne retired in 2006 and was granted emeritus status, but returned to direct the college’s Educational Policy and Evaluation Center. He was appointed interim dean in January 2008 after Louis A. Castenell stepped down. Six months later he was named permanent dean.

In 2007, he was named a Fellow of the APA’s Division of Clinical Child and Adolescent Psychology-the sixth time he was named an APA Fellow. He previously was named an APA Fellow at-large and in the divisions of Counseling Psychology, Family Psychology, Group Psychology and Psychotherapy and Psychology of Men and Masculinity.

Since 1999, Horne received more than $6 million in grant support from the Centers for Disease Control as principal investigator for a research project on violence prevention in middle schools. He also received more than $1.5 million in grants from the U.S. Department of Education for a project to train teachers for early intervention with at-risk children.

Horne has authored or co-authored 14 books, more than 80 journal articles, and served on the editorial boards of seven journals. He has also served as editor of the International Journal for the Advancement of Counseling and the Journal for Specialists in Group Work. Over the years he has made more than 200 presentations at professional meetings including 35 international programs.

He joined the UGA faculty in 1989 and served four years as head of the college’s department of counseling and human development services.

The Social Justice Award is presented to nominees with at least 10 years of continued involvement in the community, impacting the field of counseling psychology, society and research. A nominee must demonstrate continual commitment to the community, recognizing diversity and showing evidence of organization or community improvement supporting less privileged or oppressed groups.