UGA education students Shaver, Reagin receive Osborn Scholarships

UGA education students Shaver, Reagin receive Osborn Scholarships

Athens, Ga. – University of Georgia elementary education students Ashley Shaver and Mary Reagin have been awarded D. Keith Osborne Scholarships for spring semester 2009.

The scholarships are awarded annually by the department of elementary and social studies education to the most outstanding undergraduate and graduate students in early childhood, middle school and elementary education. Each will receive a $500 scholarship.

Shaver, a graduate student from Grayson, has already passed her master’s portfolio and expects to graduate in May. She plans to teach in either Fulton County or Atlanta Public Schools. In about five years, Shaver hopes to return to the university setting and work toward a doctorate in either science education or education policy.

Reagin, an undergraduate student from Cumming, also expects to graduate in May. She plans to teach middle school science in the Atlanta area, with the hope of returning to school for her master’s degree in education.

Osborn was a professor of education and child development for 26 years at UGA’s College of Education, serving as graduate coordinator for the department of elementary education from 1980-93. Before coming to UGA, he was a faculty member and division chair at the Merrill Palmer Institute from 1952-1968.

As a consultant to the U.S. Office of Education in the early 1960s, Osborn helped developed the Head Start Program and served for a year as assistant director. Later, he was on the planning committee for the Children’s Television Workshop, which developed the popular “Sesame Street” program.

Osborn received numerous teaching awards at UGA, including the 1987 Josiah Meigs Award, the university’s highest teaching honor. In 1988, he was named Georgia Professor of the Year by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education. He was also a National Silver Medal winner for teaching that same year.