UGA to remember 15 deceased students, faculty and staff at memorial ceremony April 19

UGA to remember 15 deceased students, faculty and staff at memorial ceremony April 19

Athens, Ga. – Fifteen University of Georgia students, faculty and staff who have died since last May will be remembered at the university’s annual candlelight memorial ceremony April 19 at 6 p.m. at the UGA Chapel.

“Georgia Remembers…A Candlelight Memorial,” held each spring since 2000, helps the university community find comfort and healing while honoring deceased friends, family members and colleagues, said Alan Campbell, associate dean for student support.

Ten students and five faculty and staff members will be remembered in the ceremony. The Chapel bell will toll as names are read aloud and a candle for each person is lit by members of the Arch Society.

The names will be read by Katy Bowers, president of the Student Government Association; Susan Mattern-Parkes, chair of the University Council Executive Committee; and Shannon Scott, president of the Staff Council.

UGA President Michael F. Adams will make opening remarks and introductions. Southern Wind, a student woodwind group from the Hodgson School of Music, will play and representatives of the Campus Ministry Association will offer opening and closing prayers.

Students whose names will be read are:

Richie Petzel, freshman history major, Suwanee; Kevin Brophy, sophomore majoring in sports studies, Melbourne, Australia; Caroline Moulder, an incoming freshman from Atlanta; Reggie Bostic Jr., senior agribusiness major, Camilla; Jacob Nyenhuis, freshman pre-business major, St. Simons Island; Elizabeth Boggs, graduate student in special education, Douglasville; Robert Murphy, graduate student in social science education, Dacula; Barbara Roberts, graduate student in music, Atlanta; Brian Sturgiss, senior economics major, Alpharetta; Yongsheng Li, graduate student in biochemistry and molecular biology, China.

Faculty and staff members whose names will be read are:

Gary Dudley, research professor in kinesiology; Arthur Sturgill, IT professional in the College of Education; Barry Harmon, professor and head of the department of pathology; Margaret Farley, state extension program assistant; and Clyde Anglin, management supervisor in the physical plant.