UGA wins Dartmouth College debate tournament

UGA wins Dartmouth College debate tournament

Athens, Ga. – The University of Georgia Debate Team of Brent Culpepper and Kevin Rabinowitz won the select invitational tournament held at Dartmouth College in Hanover, N.H. on Jan. 27-28. Culpepper is a speech communication and political science major from Bonaire, Ga. Rabinowitz is a business major with a concentration in insurance from Fayette County, Ga.

Each year Dartmouth College invites the seven best teams in the country to compete in a rigorous weekend of debates. The UGA team was the only team in the select event to post a winning record. Culpepper and Rabinowitz compiled a record of five wins and one loss in the round robin event. The UGA debaters defeated teams from Dartmouth, Emory, Harvard, Kansas and Wayne State on the way to a first-place finish.

As a result of this victory, Georgia is now in possession of the Herbert L. James Trophy-one of the most prized awards in debate.

Both students have received Russell Advocacy Scholarships that are supported by the Richard B. Russell Foundation. The team is supported by the Office of the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, The Franklin College of Arts and Sciences and the Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs.