Campus News Society & Culture

Student Government Association honors faculty members

SGA faculty recognition 2016-h
UGA's Student Government Association recognized the work of 10 faculty members at its annual Professor Recognition Ceremony.

Athens, Ga. – The University of Georgia Student Government Association recognized the work of 10 faculty members at its annual Professor Recognition Ceremony March 14 at the Tate Student Center.

Faculty members, their disciplines, schools and colleges are:

Dawn Bennett-Alexander, legal studies, Terry College of Business.
Tracey Brigman, foods and nutrition, College of Family and Consumer Sciences.
Mary Caplan, social work, School of Social Work.
Kimberly Grantham, marketing, Terry College of Business.
Tarek Grantham, educational psychology, College of Education.
Audrey Haynes, political science, School of Public and International Affairs.
Katie Darby Hein, health promotion and behavior, College of Public Health.
Daniel Krashen, mathematics, Franklin College of Arts and Sciences.
Katherine McClain, economics, Terry College of Business.
Walter K. Schmidt, biochemistry and molecular biology, Franklin College of Arts and Sciences.

The faculty members were selected from nominations submitted by students. From the initial pool of nominations, the students of SGA’s academic affairs committee select the honorees based on numerous criteria, including clear articulation of impact and evidence of dedication to the education of UGA students both in and out of the classroom.

“As the liaison between students and faculty, we want to showcase and recognize those professors who are going over and beyond their call of duty,” said Johnelle Simpson, SGA president. “Many of UGA’s professors have made a difference in the lives of students; it is important for us to thank them for their hard work and dedication and to show appreciation for the impacts they make on our lives.”

The Student Government Association is a registered student organization within UGA’s Division of Student Affairs.

For more information, call 706-542-6396 or see

UGA Student Affairs
The Division of Student Affairs comprises 19 campus departments that enhance the learning environment for students at the University of Georgia by stimulating the learning process, integrating the in-class and out-of-class experiences, promoting an environment conducive to growth and discovery and facilitating intellectual, spiritual, social, occupational, physical, cultural and emotional development. For more information, see