Campus News

Alan Covich is president-elect of Ecological Society of America

Alan Covich, director of the Institute of Ecology, is president-elect of the Ecological Society of America. Beginning in August 2005, Covich will serve a one-year term as president-elect, one year as president and a third year as past-president of the organization, the nation’s leading professional society for environmental scientists.

Covich is the fifth faculty member from the Institute of Ecology to serve as president of the ESA. Earlier ESA presidents from the institute were Eugene P. Odum (1965), Frank Golley (1976-1977), H. Ronald Pulliam (1991-1992) and Judy Meyer (1994-1995).

The Ecological Society of America is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization representing nearly 9,000 scientists, researchers, policy makers and managers from around the world. The ESA also annually bestows the Eugene P. Odum Award for Excellence in Ecology Education.