Campus News Society & Culture

UGA College of Education researchers receive 2013 AERA Honors

Athens, Ga. – Three faculty members, an alumna and a graduate student from the University of Georgia College of Education were nationally recognized for their work by the American Educational Research Association at its annual meeting in San Francisco April 26-May 1.

Peter Smagorinsky, Distinguished Research Professor of English Education, was selected as the 2013 Outstanding Reviewer for Review of Education Research, the AERA journal, and as an Outstanding Reviewer for 2013 by the editors of the “American Educational Research Journal – Teaching, Learning and Human Development.” Smagorinsky was named an AERA Fellow in 2010.

Joseph Tobin, the Elizabeth Garrard Hall Professor in Early Childhood Education, received the 2013 Mentoring Award from the AERA Division G. Tobin was named an AERA Fellow in 2010.

Laine Bradshaw, an assistant professor of educational psychology, has been awarded the 2013 Outstanding Dissertation Award for the Cognition and Assessment Special Interest Group. Her dissertation, which she completed as a UGA doctoral student, was titled “Combining Item Response Theory and Diagnostic Classification Models: A Psychometric Model for Scaling Ability and Diagnosing Misconceptions.”

Erik Jacobson, a doctoral candidate in mathematics education, won a $20,000 dissertation grant from the Grants Board of AERA. His dissertation was titled “Professional Experience and the Development of Mathematical Proficiency for Teaching.”

Jessica Van Cleave, who earned a bachelor’s degree in English, a master’s degree in English education and a doctorate in language and literacy education from UGA, won the 2013 Outstanding Dissertation Award from the Qualitative Research Special Interest Group. Her dissertation was titled “Scientifically Based Research in Education as a Regime of Truth: An Analysis Using Foucault’s Genealogy and Governmentality.” She is currently an assistant professor of education and director of assessment at Mars Hill College in North Carolina.