Campus News

Finance and Administration honors its own

Finance and Administration 2011 Staff Appreciation Week
From left: Sara Battey

Leaders of the Division of Finance and Administration took time out to say thank you to staff members for a year of outstanding service with a series of special events in May.

Finance and Administration is comprised of more than 1,600 men and women in seven areas: Auxiliary and Administrative Services, the Budget Division, the Controller’s Division, Environmental Safety, Human Resources, Physical Plant and University Architects.

More than 200 staff members received awards for service and meritorious performance at the sixth annual Employee Recognition Ceremony in Hodgson Hall. Eight achieved the pinnacle honor of 30 years of service and received University of Georgia rocking chairs to commemorate that milestone. They are Sara Battey, Christine Barrington and Rebecca Sanders (Controller’s Division); Jerry Willoughby, Bernard Brantley and Freddie Bonds (Physical Plant); Pat Brussack (Auxiliary Services); and Dorothy Johnson (Physical Plant).

Four employees were honored with merit awards. Derek Schuber, University Architects, won the Newcomer Award; Christine Eberhart, Parking Services, received the Customer Service Award; Annette Evans, Procurement, won the Tough Dawg Award; and Rod Platt, Physical Plant Support Services, received the Unsung Hero Award.

In addition, nearly 70 staff who have been with the division for less than two years participated in a day-long orientation program called New to F&A Day. The event, ­designed to introduce new employees to the breadth of the division and the university as a whole while also fostering networking opportunities, included walking tours of downtown Athens and North Campus, time with community leaders and senior leaders of the division and tours of new facilities.

The week concluded with an ice cream social at Memorial Hall, which more than 500 employees attended.