Campus News

Georgia Writers Hall of Fame events to take place Nov. 9-10

Mary Hood, Alfred Uhry and the late Olive Ann Burns will be inducted into the Georgia Writers Hall of Fame Nov. 10 at the Richard B. Russell Building Special Collections Libraries. This year’s ceremony is part of the UGA Spotlight on the Arts festival.

The annual observance begins Nov. 9:

At 2 p.m., Hood will read from selected works. A Brunswick native, Hood has received the National Magazine Award, the Townsend Prize and the Robert Penn Warren Award, among others, for her short stories and poetry.

At 4 p.m., Hood and Uhry will participate in a discussion moderated by Hugh Ruppersburg, English professor and senior associate dean of the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences.

A playwright, lyricist and screenwriter, Uhry is best known for his play Driving Miss Daisy, which premiered in New York in 1987 and later was adapted into a film. Ten years later, Last Night of Ballyhoo, the second play in what is referred to as his Atlanta trilogy, captured the Tony and his place in theatrical history as the only playwright to win a Pulitzer Prize, an Academy Award and a Tony Award.

At 7 p.m., UGA’s theatre and film studies department will present a staged reading of Ballyhoo, followed by a panel discussion including Uhry and UGA faculty.

The induction ceremony is Nov. 10 at 10 a.m. Burns, who died in 1990, was an Atlanta journalist who penned her first novel, Cold Sassy Tree, at age 60 after a cancer diagnosis.

Open free to the public, all events will take place in the second floor auditorium of the Russell Special Collections Building.

Register online at or contact Leandra Nessel at or 706-542-3879.