Glazer receives UGA College of Education’s 2007 Staff Award for Excellence

Glazer receives UGA College of Education’s 2007 Staff Award for Excellence

Athens, Ga. – Christy Glazer, administrative specialist for the College of Education’s faculty services office, has received the college’s 2007 Staff Award for Excellence.

Glazer, a resident of Bogart, was presented a plaque and a $1,200 cash award in ceremonies April 20 at Flinchum’s Phoenix. First runner-up, Elizabeth Platt, an accountant in the department of mathematics and science education, was awarded $750, and second runner-up, Laura Watson, senior accountant in the department of educational psychology and instructional technology, received $300.

The three finalists were selected from a list of nine nominees that included David Avin, Karen Myers, Penny Rabon, Ann Seagraves, Marlee Stewart and Margaret Turner.

Faculty and staff members describe Glazer as a highly competent, cheerful and helpful member of the college staff. She is lauded for her willingness to volunteer to assist departments in times of transition.

“Christy has an amazing ability to anticipate problems before they emerge, generate multiple possible solutions and resolve challenges,” said associate dean Cheri Hoy, Glazer’s supervisor.

First runner-up Platt, of Athens, has spent her entire 33-year career at UGA in the same department and plans to retire in August.

“Elizabeth provides a stabilizing force in our department that comes from her years of service, her knowledge of individuals and the system, and her loyalty to her department. These qualities are irreplaceable,” said department head Denise Mewborn.

Second runner-up Watson, of Statham, has worked in the college for more than 20 years. Faculty members commend her as a competent, resourceful, diligent and meticulous hard-worker.

“Laura Watson consistently performs above expectation, particularly as it relates to her willingness to assist faculty and students in areas beyond her prescribed duties,” said one faculty member. “She is a true asset to all of the programs in the department.”

In addition to the Staff Awards for Excellence, several staff members were recognized for years of service to the college. They included: Lisa Conley, Cathy Frosh, Nicholas Holt, Sheila Hudson, Cynthia Molloy, Karen Myers, Kim Norton, Nathaniel Parker, Laura Patrick, Iola (Dell) Whitehead and Michael Wisenbaker, 5 years; Ron Braxley, Krisi Leonard, Scott Pollack and Grace Thornton, 10 years; Dianne Fields and Becky Hendren, 15 years; Kate Character, Lanelle Davis, Valerie Kilpatrick and Laura Watson, 20 years.