Campus News

J.W. Fanning Institute appoints 17 members to new advisory board

The J.W. Fanning Institute for Leadership Development at UGA has appointed 17 leaders from across the state to serve on its new advisory board.

The board will help guide the strategic direction of the institute, a unit of the UGA Office of Public Service and Outreach, in fulfilling its mission of strengthening communities and organizations through leadership development, training and education.

“Recognizing that leadership development is key to community and economic vitality, UGA has a strong tradition of working with communities to develop leaders, particularly through the Fanning Institute,” said Jennifer Frum, vice president for public service and outreach. “The 17 individuals comprising Fanning’s new advisory board come from diverse walks of life throughout Georgia and are thus critical to helping Matt Bishop (the institute’s director) and his team at Fanning continue to serve the leadership development needs of Georgia.”

Each appointee offers a unique perspective and has been exposed to the work of the Fanning Institute as clients, supporters, partners and program alumni.

Fanning’s new advisory board represents a range of experience with leadership development. The new members come from a variety of backgrounds in business, civic and community affairs, nonprofits and higher education.

“Each of these distinguished leaders brings a unique perspective to our work in leadership development. I am very excited to have them on our advisory board as they will provide invaluable counsel and support to what we do with community, youth and non-profit leadership development,” Bishop said.

Board members will provide input on existing and new programs and initiatives, help identify resource opportunities and build regional and statewide partnerships that inform and expand the Fanning Institute’s work.

The board held its first meeting Sept. 29.

The newly appointed board includes Jimmy Allgood, chairman of the board, Allgood Pest Solutions, Dublin; Luis Gianfranco “Gio” Carrion, senior financial analyst, The Hanover Insurance Group, Atlanta; Chris Clark, president and CEO, Georgia Chamber of Commerce, Peachtree City; Gretchen Corbin, commissioner, Georgia Department of Community Affairs, Atlanta; J. Griffin “Griff” Doyle, vice president for government relations, UGA, Athens; Horace Johnson Jr., Superior Court judge, 10th Judicial District of Georgia, Covington; and Milton Little Jr., president and CEO, United Way of Greater Atlanta, Atlanta.

Also serving on the advisory board are Dink NeSmith, president, Community Newspapers Inc., Athens; Andrea Oates, instructor, South Georgia Technical College, Americus, and city councilwoman, Plains; Roy Reeves, director, Southwest Georgia Bank and Southwest Georgia Financial Corp., and chair, Colquitt County Archway Partnership, Moultrie; Deborah Richardson, executive vice president of development, National Center for Human and Civil Rights, Atlanta; Frank Ros, vice president, Hispanic strategies, Coca-Cola Co., Atlanta; Dan Sisson, regional vice president, Mid-Atlantic Region, AT&T, Columbia, South Carolina; Tisha Tallman, president and CEO, Georgia Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, Atlanta; Dale Threadgill, professor and founding dean, UGA College of Engineering, Athens; T. Rogers Wade, chairman of the board of trustees, Georgia Public Policy Foundation and senior partner of Capitolink Inc., Atlanta; and Philip A. Wilheit Sr., president, Wilheit Packaging and Marketing Images, Gainesville.