Arts & Humanities Campus News Society & Culture

Media Advisory: Peabody Awards announced via national broadcast April 2

Viewing party planned at UGA

Athens, Ga. – The Peabody Awards presented by the University of Georgia Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication will be announced April 2 via national broadcast on “CBS This Morning.” The announcement will be made by 2014 Peabody ceremony host Ira Glass and Grady College alumna Charlayne Hunter-Gault. The telecast will also feature an interview with Peabody Director Jeffrey P. Jones and a tour of Peabody Archives, both of which were pre-recorded last week.

The CBS portion of the announcement will include select winners. A full list of Peabody Award winners will be available on the new Peabody Awards website at following the broadcast.

As part of this announcement, a viewing party will be held at the Richard B. Russell Building Special Collections Libraries for students, faculty, staff and the general public. Light refreshments and coffee will be available.

Who: The University of Georgia and “CBS This Morning”

What: Announcement of Peabody Award winners via national broadcast on “CBS This Morning” and a viewing party

When: The viewing party takes place April 2 from 8:15-9 a.m. The announcement on “CBS This Morning” is expected between 8:30 and 9 a.m.

Where: Viewing Party – University of Georgia Richard B. Russell Building Special Collections Libraries

The Peabodys, based at UGA’s Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication, are the oldest in electronic media and among the world’s most prestigious and selective prizes. They recognize excellence and meritorious work by radio and television stations, networks, webcasters, podcasters, producing organizations and individuals. The 16-member Peabody Board is a distinguished panel of television critics, industry practitioners and experts in culture and the arts. Selection is made by the board following review by special screening committees of UGA faculty, students and staff. For more information regarding the Peabody Awards program, see or follow @Peabody_ Awards on Twitter.