Campus News

Student Government Association to honor seven faculty members

Athens, Ga. – The University of Georgia Student Government Association will recognize the work of seven faculty members at its annual Professor Recognition Banquet on March 7 at 6 p.m. at the Georgia Center for Continuing Education.

Faculty members and their disciplines are:

Natasha Ganem, sociology;
Claiborne Glover, biochemistry and molecular biology;
Joshua Haynes, history;
David Hazinski, telecommunications;
Barry Hollander, journalism;
Daniel Silk, criminal justice; and
Danny Stevens, human development and family sciences.

The faculty members were selected from 40 nominations submitted by students. From the initial pool of nominations, the students of SGA’s academic affairs committee selected the honorees based on numerous criteria, including clear articulation of impact and evidence of dedication to the education of UGA students both in and out of the classroom.

Blake Thompson, director of the academic affairs committee, said that recognizing professors who go above and beyond to make an impact on students’ lives is a great way to improve the classroom experience for both faculty and students.

“SGA is very excited to be able to provide an opportunity for these educators to earn the recognition they deserve and an outlet for students to express their gratitude toward their instructors. There are numerous teaching awards bestowed upon faculty members by their peers, but we feel that this honor is especially meaningful in that nominations are submitted and evaluated entirely by students,” he said.

Both the professors and the nominating students will be present at the banquet.

The Student Government Association is a registered student organization within UGA’s Division of Student Affairs. For more information, call 706/542-6396 or see