Campus News Society & Culture

UGA announces 2010 Presidential Leadership Scholarship recipients

Athens, Ga. – Twenty-one University of Georgia incoming freshmen have been selected to receive the Presidential Leadership Scholarship for the 2010-2011 academic year.

The new scholarship, supported by UGA’s Athletic Association and awarded for the first time this year, recognizes academically outstanding undergraduate first-year students who demonstrate leadership potential.The scholarship provides $3,000 per year in addition to the HOPE scholarship to Georgia high school graduates. Out-of-state recipients will also receive a Regents Waiver of the non-resident tuition differential for non-Georgia residents.

The award is renewable for an additional three years as long as the recipients maintain certain academic standards.

The 2010 Presidential Leadership Scholarship recipients are:

Name / Hometown / High School / Parent(s)

From Georgia (listed by county)

Chatham County

Sydnee Bush / Pooler / Herschel V. Jenkins High School / Jack and Kimberley Bush

Cobb County

Kathryn Back / Marietta / George Walton Comprehensive High School / Mike and Andrea Back

Andrew Dalton / Marietta / George Walton Comprehensive High School / Douglas and Dawn Dalton

Kyla Mohler / Marietta / Wheeler High School / Elena D. Mohler

Luben Raytchev / Marietta / Wheeler High School / Vassil and Krassimira Raytchev

Melissa Schoop / Marietta / Marietta High School / Michael Schoop and Kristina Clinton

DeKalb County

Tia Ayele / Stone Mountain / Tucker High School / Tekle Ayele

Shannon Buckley / Atlanta / Paideia School / Patrick and Jodi Buckley

Patrick Mooney / Dunwoody / Marist School / John and Ann Mooney

Stephanie Word / Atlanta / Marist School / David and JoLynn Word

Forsyth County

Cole Earnest / Cumming / South Forsyth High School / Stephen and Stacey Earnest

Fulton County

William Freeman / Atlanta / Greater Atlanta Christian School / Lee and Mary Scott Freeman

Rebecca Messinger / Roswell / Lassiter High School / Robert and Lisa Messinger

Katherine Plumblee / Atlanta / Westminster School / Scott and Heather Plumblee

Gwinnett County

Michael Ackerman / Lilburn / Brookwood High School / Mark and Susan Ackerman

Victoria Anderson / Lawrenceville / Brookwood High School / David and Margaret Anderson

Kimberly Yau / Lilburn / Brookwood High School / Sharon Yau

Richmond County

Robert Macdonell / Augusta / Westminster School of Augusta / Alex H. and Judith Macdonell III

Worth County

Joel Howell / TyTy / Worth County High School / Joel Howell and Brenda Howell

From Out-of-State

Ian Berger / Franklin, Tenn. / Franklin High School / Brian Berger and Sarah Berger

Kelsie Stovall / New Orleans, La. / Benjamin Franklin High School / Gary and Tara Stovall

For general information on scholarships, see