Campus News

UGA College of Education students receive SREB doctoral scholarships

Soria Colomer was a recipient of an SREB graduate student award.

Athens, Ga. – A graduate student in the University of Georgia College of Education has received the Doctoral Scholars Fellowship and two other graduate students have received Dissertation Awards from the Southern Regional Educational Board.

Stephanie Jones, of Fayetteville, a doctoral student majoring in English education, received the SREB Doctoral Scholars Fellowship. Jones is a member of the National Council of Teachers of English, where she is a part of the Conference on English Education Graduate Strand. The CEE Graduate Strand serves as a support system and provides partnerships and collaborative opportunities for graduate students who are members of the larger CEE community. In 2011, she was recognized as a STAR Teacher for Frederick Douglass High School in Atlanta, where she taught American literature, composition, and advanced placement language and composition for 11th grade. Her major professor at UGA is Jennifer Graff.

Recipients of the doctoral fellowship must be in the first year of a Ph.D. program and a member of a racial or ethnic minority who plans to become a full-time college or university faculty member upon earning a doctorate. The award offers three years of direct program support and two years of institutional support from the scholar’s college, university and/or department with a $20,000 annual stipend. In addition, each recipient is awarded up to five years of university-covered tuition and fees. The award also provides professional development support and covers expenses associated with attending the annual Compact for Faculty Diversity Institute on Teaching and Mentoring.

Soria Colomer of New Orleans, La. received one of the SREB Dissertation Awards. She is a doctoral candidate in language and literacy education. She was awarded an American Association of Hispanics in Higher Education Fellowship in 2007, and a graduate education diversity internship from the American Evaluation Association in 2009. Before coming to UGA, she taught high school Spanish as a member of the Mississippi Teacher Corps and earned National Board Certification. Colomer has served as an ESL teacher for the migrant education program in Clarke County and as a graduate assistant at UGA. Her current research focuses on Latino and Spanish-speaking educator experiences in new Latino communities. Her work has been published in Foreign Language Annals, Hispania and the upcoming book Revisiting Education in the New Latino Diaspora: One of Twelve and Rising. Her major professor at UGA is Linda Harklau.

Delishia Pittman of Phoenix, Ariz. is a doctoral candidate in counseling psychology and was the other recipient of the SREB Dissertation Award. She currently is completing an American Psychological Association Accredited Pre-doctoral Internship at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Pittman serves as the student representative for the APA Division 17 Section on Ethnic and Racial Diversity. In addition, she has served as southeastern regional representative for the National Black Graduate Student Association, the membership co-chair for the Association of Black Psychologist Student Circle and the vice president of UGA’s Graduate and Professional Scholars organization. In support of her dissertation research, she also was recently awarded the College of Education’s George Gazda Dissertation Award, which is presented to a student annually in the counseling and human development services department. Her major professor at UGA is Ezemenari M. Obasi.

The Dissertation Award offers a one-year stipend up to $20,000 for doctoral students who are a member of a racial or ethnic minority. Recipients must have completed all course work and comprehensive/preliminary exams and have defended or will defend their dissertation prospectus successfully before the academic year begins.


Note to editors: Images for two of the SREB award winners are available for download at the following urls:

Stephanie Jones:

Soria Colomer: