Campus News Science & Technology

UGA College of Pharmacy graduates 121 students

Athens, Ga. – The University of Georgia College of Pharmacy graduated 121 doctor of pharmacy students in ceremonies held May 5 in Athens. Of those students, 70 graduated with honors, including one first honor graduate. Other honors were five summa cum laude, 32 magna cum laude and 33 cum laude.

A record number of 34 graduates were selected to attend postgraduate residency programs in Georgia and across the U.S.

The graduation weekend’s festivities began with the 64rd annual senior awards banquet on Friday evening, where 15 students received 12 separate awards for special achievement, academic excellence and professionalism. Award winners are listed below.

Anthony Hawkins of McDonough received the Robert C. Wilson Award, for professional integrity, personality, positive attitude and intelligence.
Ryan Markham of Atlanta received the Kenneth L. Waters Award, which recognizes academic excellence, leadership qualities, professional attitude and service.
Kayleigh Marx of Athens was recipient of the Durward N. Entrekin Pharmacy Student Leadership Award.
• The Lilly Achievement Award recognized Lydia Cronic of Newnan for ethics, scholarship and leadership.
Melody Parker of Thomasville, Michael Thiman of Athens and Morgan Trepte of Athens received the Merck Awards for Academic Excellence.
• The APhA-ASP Senior Recognition Certificate went to Kyle Burcher of Fayetteville, recognizing professionalism, excellence in patient care, exceptional service and commitment to the profession.
• The Facts and Comparisons Award of Excellence in Clinical Communications went to Khatiga Shroff of Lawrenceville for high academic achievement and outstanding clinical communication skills.
• The McKesson Award, based on exemplary performance during clinical rotation, was presented to Steven Nakajima of Marietta.
• The Mylan Pharmaceuticals Inc. Excellence in Pharmacy Award for high academic achievement and professional motivation and proficiency in drug information services was awarded to Margie Temple of Danielsville.
Rejena Azad of Covington received the Redfearn Award for professionalism and community service.
• The Pharmdawg Award for service to the profession, college and community was presented to Shuang Fuyang of Athens and Melissa Robinson of Smyrna.
Laura Lee Stoudenmire of Albany received the TEVA Pharmaceuticals USA Outstanding Student Award for excellence in the study of pharmacy.