UGA graduate student wins thesis award

UGA graduate student wins thesis award

Athens, Ga. – University of Georgia graduate student Elizabeth Rahn was awarded the 2008 Master’s Thesis Award by the Conference of Southern Graduate Schools (CSGS) at their 37th annual meeting in Austin, Texas, Feb. 22-25.

Rahn, who earned a Master of Science degree in psychology from UGA in December 2006, is currently a third-year doctoral student in the Neuroscience and Behavior Program of the Department of Psychology at UGA. Her master’s thesis, which evaluated the effectiveness of cannabinoids in treating pathological pain resulting from treatment with the chemotherapeutic agent vincristine, won in the life sciences category. Rahn’s research is significant in that it has the potential to provide new treatment possibilities for cancer patients experiencing the debilitating pain that often accompanies chemotherapy.

“I am very proud of Ms. Rahn and her exceptional work,” said Maureen Grasso, dean of the Graduate School. “Her scholarship is a mark of distinction for the university and a reflection of the quality graduate programs, faculty and students that we have here.”

Rahn is the second UGA graduate student in three years to win this distinguished award. In 2006, Jennifer McMahon, who earned a Master of Arts degree in sociology in May 2005, won in the social sciences, business and education category.

“It is a great honor to accept this prestigious award on behalf of the University of Georgia,” said Rahn. “None of this would have been possible without the tremendous support of my major advisor, Dr. Andrea Hohmann, the members of my master’s thesis committee, the University of Georgia psychology department and the UGA Graduate School.”

The award recognizes excellence in research and writing by graduate students. Graduate deans in CSGS member institutions nominate one candidate from their institutions, whose thesis is then judged by CSGS faculty members in the discipline. The other category to receive an award this year was social sciences, business and education. Winners each received $1,000 plus travel expenses to attend the 2008 CSGS meeting, where the award was presented at a luncheon on Feb. 24.

For more information about the Graduate School, see www.grad.uga.edu.