Campus News

UGA police corporal, two former corporals receive the 2023 UGA Kassinger Scholarship

Adam Fouche, director of the Office of Emergency Preparedness, presents the 2023 Kassinger Scholarship Award to Cpl. Ken Maxwell. (Submitted photo)

The Edward T. and Sarah Laurent Kassinger Scholarship board has awarded the 2023 Kassinger Scholarship Awards to Cpl. Ken Maxwell, former corporal and current program coordinator Shayla Appleby and former Cpl. Thomas Haas IV in recognition of their academic achievements and work pursuits.

The scholarship is provided to graduate and undergraduate students who complete academic degrees while employed full time as a UGA police officer or as a working student in the criminal justice studies program at UGA.

The award is named for Edward Kassinger, director of the UGA Public Safety Division from 1969-1983, and his late wife, Sarah. The award was established in 1984 by former employees and friends of the Kassingers who believe that students who work to help pay educational expenses should be recognized.

Maxwell has been employed by the university’s police department since June 2015. In December 2022, Maxwell received a Bachelor of Science in psychology from Kennesaw State University.

Appleby was employed by the university’s police department as a corporal from May 2015 until May 2023. She is now a program coordinator II at UGA’s Gwinnett campus. In December 2022, Appleby received a Master of Arts in technical and professional writing from Middle Georgia State University.

Haas IV was employed by the university’s police department from September 2012 until May 2023. In December 2022, Haas received a Bachelor of Science in organization leadership with a minor in public administration from Valdosta State University.

The Kassinger Scholarship is awarded on an annual basis to candidates and is administered by the UGA Office of Emergency Preparedness.