Campus News

UGA police officers honored by governor

UGA Police Cpl. Derrick Gregory (right) and Officer James Simmons (center) risked their personal safety to enter the Tau Epsilon Phi fraternity house on Dec. 3, 2005, to alert the residents of a fire in the building, leading to the safe evacuation of all occupants. They were recognized recently for their heroic actions at the 2006 Governor’s Public Safety Awards program at the Georgia Public Safety Training Center.

“Georgia is proud to recognize our law enforcement officers and emergency responders for their commitment to Georgia’s public safety,” said Gov. Sonny Perdue (left). “These individuals exhibit courage and dedication everyday to keep us safe.”

“I am very pleased with both of these police officers’ actions that day and how they represent the University of Georgia police department each and every day,” said Jimmy Williamson, UGA chief of police.

The Governor’s Public Safety Awards Program was initiated in 1998 by former Gov. Zell Miller to provide an opportunity for the men and women who serve in the state’s public safety ranks to be recognized for outstanding service to their communities and contributions to their profession.