Campus News Society & Culture

UGA ranked fourth highest producer of Fulbright Scholars

Athens, Ga. – The University of Georgia shares the distinction of being the fourth-highest-ranked producer of Fulbright Scholars for the 2010-2011 academic year. Diane Edison, Jared Klein, Peter Rutledge and Richard Siegesmund have received Fulbright Scholar grants to study abroad, lecture and conduct research.

“A Fulbright Scholarship is a signal accomplishment for a faculty member, and I congratulate these UGA recipients on being recognized among the best in the world in their disciplines,” said UGA President Michael F. Adams. “For UGA to have four Fulbrights in this cycle and to be ranked among the leaders in this class speaks to the quality of the faculty and their dedication to their disciplines and to their students. This is yet another indication that America’s first public university is among her very best today.”

Edison, a professor in the Lamar Dodd School of Art in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, is lecturing and conducting research at the New Bulgarian University, Sofia, Bulgaria. She will be there until March. Her project is entitled, “Portraiture Redefined; Interdisciplinary and Collaborative Influences on Teaching Pedagog.”

“I am interested in the work of the Bulgarian artist Vladimir Dimitrov, whose heroic portraitstranscend the genre with a folk tradition that is comparable to the universal language of contemporary portraiture,” said Edison. “Additionally I am collaborating with colleagues at the New Bulgarian University through team teaching.”

Klein, thedistinguished research professor of linguistics, classics, and Germanic and Slavic languages in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, has been named recipient of a Fulbright Distinguished Chair in Humanities and Cultural Studies. He will use the award to teach and conduct research at the University of Vienna from March-July, where he will lead two courses: the stylistics of the Rigveda, the ancient Indian collection of Sanskrit hymns sacred to Hindus, and Indo-European Discourse Structure. He also will work on his book Stylistic Repetition in the Rigveda.

“With this award I hope to disseminate my ongoing research into the stylistics and discourse structure of the Rigveda to an audience at a major center where these studies are pursued,” said Klein. “I will also use the time to work on a monograph oninterstanzaic repetition in the Rigveda and a book to be titled Stylistic Repetition in the Rigveda.”

Rutledge, an associate professor in the School of Law, will lecture and conduct research at the University of Vienna, in Austria from March-June. His project is entitled, “Dispute Resolution and the Constitution.”

“It is a great honor to join the ranks of UGA faculty who have received Fulbright awards. The process is highly competitive, and the award would not have been possible without the strong support of Dean Rebecca White at the Law School and her counterparts at the University of Vienna,” said Rutledge. “I look forward to using the award to conduct original research in the relationship between constitutional law and alternative dispute resolution.”

Siegesmund, an associate professor and co-chair of art education in the Lamar Dodd School of Art, is lecturing and conducting research at the National College of Art and Design in Dublin, Ireland until December. His project is entitled, “Applied Arts-Based Research in Schools and Communities.”

“In addition to working with students from all disciplines within the National College of Art and Design, I will interact with a variety of groups including secondary art educators and museum professionals. I will also lecture in locations throughout Ireland, as well as England and Scotland,” said Siegesmund.

Since 1946, the U.S. Government-sponsored Fulbright Scholar program has provided faculty and professionals with an unparalleled opportunity to study and conduct research in other nations.

These faculty members are among the more than 294,000 American and foreign university students, K-12 teachers, and university faculty and professionals who have participated in one of the several Fulbright exchange programs. Recipients of Fulbright Scholar awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement and because they have demonstrated extraordinary leadership potential in their fields.

For more information, see the Council for International Exchange of Scholars website at