Campus News

UGA remembers those who passed away in last year 

(Photo by Andrew Davis Tucker/UGA)

Twenty-four students, faculty and staff will be honored

Twenty-four University of Georgia students, faculty and staff members who have died since April 2023 will be honored at the university’s annual candlelight memorial service on April 30 at 7 p.m. on the steps of the UGA Chapel.

President Jere W. Morehead will lead the service. The names of each of the 14 students and 10 faculty and staff members will be read aloud, followed by a toll of the Chapel bell and the lighting of a candle.

Names will be read by Savannah Hembree, president of the UGA Staff Council; Rock Rogers, president of the Student Government Association; and Elizabeth St. Pierre, chair of the University Council Executive Committee. Members of the Arch Society will light candles as each name is read.

Members of the university community and the public are invited to attend. In the event of inclement weather, the event will be moved inside the Chapel.

Students whose names will be read, along with their hometowns and the areas of study they were pursuing, are:

  • Wyatt Banks, a second-year undergraduate from Atlanta, Georgia, majoring in political science
  • Anthony Bundros, a fourth-year undergraduate from Dalton, Georgia, majoring in agribusiness
  • Morgan Delaney, a fourth-year undergraduate from Atlanta, Georgia, majoring in political science
  • Olyn Gee, a fourth-year undergraduate from Bogart, Georgia
  • Birkley Heynen, a fourth-year undergraduate from Athens, Georgia, majoring in ecology
  • Jack O’Kelley, a second-year undergraduate from Atlanta, Georgia, majoring in communication studies
  • Prem Patel, a fourth-year undergraduate from Ringgold, Georgia, majoring in management information systems
  • Ronit Patel, a third-year undergraduate from Fayetteville, Georgia, majoring in finance
  • Laken Riley, an undergraduate at the Augusta University College of Nursing from Woodstock, Georgia, majoring in nursing
  • Victoria Rojas, a third-year undergraduate from Atlanta, Georgia, majoring in psychology
  • Perry Ruby, a fourth-year undergraduate from St. Petersburg, Florida, majoring in general business
  • Leah Szczepanski, a second-year undergraduate from Bishop, Georgia, majoring in international affairs and intending to major in economics
  • Rahil Surani, a fourth-year undergraduate from Johns Creek, Georgia, majoring in finance
  • Faye Zhang, a third-year undergraduate from St. Paul, Minnesota, majoring in mathematics and intending to major in economics

Faculty and staff whose names will be read, along with the positions they held, are:

  • Eddie Bankston, concrete mason, Facilities Management Division
  • Becky Brightwell, public service associate, Institute on Human Development and Disability
  • Larelle Copeland, extension educator, Northwest District – Cooperative Extension
  • Nate Fulmer, IT systems support associate, Louise McBee Institute of Higher Education
  • Herbert McIver, marine resource specialist, Marine Extension Service
  • Mary Parrish, baker, Auxiliary Services – Dining Services
  • Michele Sellers, loan services coordinator, Bursar and Treasury Services Division
  • David Sides, electrician, Rock Eagle 4-H Center
  • Willie Thornton, building services supervisor, Facilities Management Division
  • Richard Waithe, building services worker, Facilities Management Division

The candlelight memorial service is coordinated by UGA Well-being Resources, a campus-wide initiative led by UGA Student Affairs.