Campus News

UGA’s Economic Development Leadership Council a finalist for awards of excellence

Economic Development Leadership Council (EDLC) group photo
Pictured from left to right are Sara Singleton

Athens, Ga. – The University of Georgia Economic Development Leadership Council has been selected as one of three national finalists in the University Economic Development Association’s 2012 Awards of Excellence competition in the leadership and collaboration category. The selection marks the first time that a UGA initiative for economic development has been recognized nationally by the association.

EDLC will present its program at the association’s annual summit, which will be held Oct. 21-23 in Chattanooga, Tenn. The winner will be decided based on presentation and will be announced on Oct. 23.

EDLC, an initiative of the UGA Office of the Associate Provost for Economic Development, serves as a centralized entryway into UGA for companies, local and state governments, non-profit organizations and individual citizens seeking assistance with economic-development-related needs. Formalized in 2011, the council represents a comprehensive cross-section of UGA faculty and staff with expertise and leadership in both community- and technology-based economic development.

“UGA’s selection as a finalist for this award recognizes that we are providing access to the resources and expertise necessary to assure regional economic development,” said Margaret Wagner Dahl, associate provost for economic development. “UGA remains committed to creating vibrant and thriving communities in order to make Georgia a better place to live.”

The council is made up of Dahl; Sara Singleton, economic development program coordinator; Allan Adams, state director of the Small Business Development Center; Tricia Chastain, director of state relations; Jeff Christie, liaison between UGA Cooperative Extension and the Association of County Commissioners of Georgia; Steve Dempsey, associate vice president for public service and outreach; Griff Doyle, vice president for government relations; Dennis Epps, deputy director of the Carl Vinson Institute of Government; Jane Gatewood, director of international partnerships; Jeff Humphreys, director of the Selig Center for Economic Growth; Malcolm McCoy, director of corporate relations; Chris Moder, associate director of corporate relations and Keith Oelke, executive director of corporate and foundation relations.

The award for collaboration and leadership recognizes innovative efforts by colleges and universities to support the growth of collaborative economic development strategies and the leaders required to implement them. It is judged on four criteria: replicability, scalability, sustainability and originality. Judges for this award represent institutions such as Arizona State University, the State University of New York, Purdue University and Virginia Tech.

Established in 1976, the University Economic Development Association represents and brings together higher education, private sector and community economic development stakeholders. UEDA works to expand economic opportunities in member communities through research, community resources, campus planning, talent development and technology commercialization.

For more information about EDLC, see