Athens, Ga. – The University of Georgia’s Jane and Harry Willson Center for Humanities and Arts has relocated to a historically renovated two-story house at 1260 South Lumpkin St. The center’s director, Nicholas Allen, invites the community to attend a dedication ceremony including President Jere W. Morehead and poet H. Bruce McEver on March 19 at 5 p.m. at the new location.
A catered reception will follow the ceremony. The event also will honor the Willson Center’s 2014-2015 Faculty Research Fellows.
The renovation was made possible through the generosity of Jane Willson, the Willson Center’s Board of Friends and individual donors and with support from the Office of the President and the Office of the Vice President for Research. The building will serve as a hub and showcase for humanities and arts research and will house international guests, receptions, events and the Willson Center staff.
“In addition to supporting faculty and students through our grant and fellowship programs, the Willson Center broadcasts excellence in humanities and arts research at UGA to the world,” Allen said. “This building reflects the creativity of our faculty in the humanities and arts and the university’s commitment to the Willson Center.”
Nearby parking will be available for the event. Contact Winnie Smith at 706-542-3966 or email@example.com for more information.
Willson Center for Humanities and Arts
The Jane and Harry Willson Center for Humanities and Arts is a unit of the Office of the Vice President for Research at UGA. In the service of its mission to promote research and creativity in the humanities and arts, the Willson Center sponsors and participates in numerous public events on and off the UGA campus throughout the academic year. It supports faculty through research grants, lectures, symposia, publications, visiting scholars, visiting artists, collaborative instruction, public conferences, exhibitions, and performances. For more information, see http://willson.uga.edu/.