Search committee named to seek dean of Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources

December 12, 2014

Sam Fahmy

Sam Fahmy

Director of Public Relations

Recent and archived articles by Sam Fahmy

Office of the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost
Academic Affairs and Provost, Office of Senior VP for
Work: 706-583-0727

Related Sites

Athens, Ga. - University of Georgia Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Pamela Whitten has appointed a committee to begin a national search to fill the position of dean of the Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources.

J. Scott Angle, dean of the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, will chair the search committee, which includes faculty, staff, student and alumni representatives.

Additional search committee members are:
Brianne Brown, a senior natural resources recreation and tourism major and student ambassador in the Warnell School.
Robert Cooper, professor of wildlife ecology and biometrics in the Warnell School.
Joe Dahlen, assistant professor of wood quality in the Warnell School and a faculty member in UGA's Harley Langdale Jr. Center for Forest Business.
Dan Forster, a Warnell alumnus and director of the Wildlife Resources Division of the Georgia Department of Natural Resources.
Gary T. Green, associate professor of natural resources recreation and tourism in the Warnell School.
Sonia Hernandez, associate professor of wildlife disease in the Warnell School with a joint appointment in the College of Veterinary Medicine's department of population health.
Cecil Jennings, head of the Georgia Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit and adjunct professor in the Warnell School;
Michael Kane, professor of quantitative silviculture and director of UGA's Plantation Management Research Cooperative and its Center for Advanced Forestry Systems.
Wesley Langdale, a UGA alumnus and president of The Langdale Company.
Daniel Markewitz, professor of soil site productivity in the Warnell School.
Nate Nibbelink, associate professor of geographic information systems/spatial ecology and director of UGA's interdisciplinary Center for Integrative Conservation Research;
Morgan Nolan, technology director in the Warnell School.
Miles A. "Andy" Stone, a Warnell alumnus and president of Superior Pine Products.
C.J. Tsai, Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar and Haynes Professor in forest biotechnology in the Warnell School with a joint appointment in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences' department of genetics.

The committee will be assisted by the UGA Search Group in Human Resources.

Michael Clutter, who has served as dean of the Warnell School since 2007, recently announced that he is stepping down effective Jan. 2 to pursue an opportunity in the private sector. Dale Greene, professor and associate dean for academic affairs in the Warnell School, has agreed to serve as interim dean beginning Jan. 2.

Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
The Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources is the oldest existing forestry school in the South. The Warnell School's educational and outreach programs focus on the conservation and management of Earth's natural resources, including forests, fisheries, wildlife and water sources. The school emphasizes the importance of balanced management of ecosystems throughout Georgia and the world. For more information, see


Filed under: Environment, Forestry, University News, Appointments

Media Relations

Executive Director for Media Communications
Greg Trevor

706 / 542-8025
Executive Editor for Media Relations
David Bill

706 / 542-9150
Media Relations Coordinator
Sara Freeland

706 / 542-8077
Media Relations Coordinator for Broadcast
Melissa Jackson

706 / 542-8089

Open Records

Open Records Manager
Bob Taylor

706 / 542-8095